New Update?


Last Updated:

  1. remixulus

    remixulus Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just received a text from AT&T informing me that an update is available for my phone.

    Any ideas what it may be, and if I need to unroot to install?
     

    Advertisement
  2. skinien

    skinien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    86
    What's your current Baseband version?

    Menu -> Settings -> About phone
     
  3. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Is there any possible way that at&t would still be sending out txt messages for an update that is over a month old?
     
  4. remixulus

    remixulus Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hmm, I am on JF6.

    I also am having an issue with connecting to the DM server, which is why I ask about the need for root uninstall.
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Could you post the content of that text? I'm wondering why it informed you of an availability; it's interesting that they're texting rooted devices, seemingly because the software cannot be installed until it's unrooted.

    Makes too much sense. ;)
     
  6. skinien

    skinien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    86
    Read post 4 - yes.

    That's what I was trying to figure out.
     
  7. remixulus

    remixulus Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    I was wondering if the OTA wouldn't connect due to my being rooted.

     
  8. TXBamanut

    TXBamanut Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you are updated to where you should be, you should have JH7...that's the deal probably.

    Why the text? You got me.
     
  9. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    No effect. I've been rooted "forever" and received the OTA upgrade with no problem.
     
  10. amheck

    amheck Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm on JH7 and just got the same text.
     
  11. RedRyno

    RedRyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    27
    Could be froyo, the last rumor (#1,245- I could be off by a couple, three hundred) says the 11th...
     
  12. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    That would make sense since the Galaxy Tab is being released that day.
     
  13. ScuroRaven

    ScuroRaven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ever since Jh7 update, when I check for updates, It says " unable to connect to att servers " how do I fix this?
     
  14. SlappyMcgee

    SlappyMcgee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    21
    Got to "Settings", "Applications", "Manage applications". When in "Manage applications", hit the menu key and select "filter". Once in "filter" mode select all. Now look for "Device management" and access it. When in "Device management" hit "Clear data".

    Now you will need to reboot the phone. Once the phone reboots, wait a couple minutes and check for updates.
     
    idunno271828, RedRyno, calsax and 2 others like this.
  15. remixulus

    remixulus Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
  16. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    Is this just me or does it seem like the only people who are getting this update message are the ones running congnition ROM?

    EDIT:
    Nevermind my comment, looks like a lot of people are getting this message, not just Congnition users. I tried to update manually and it said "No Updates". I'll give Kies a shot when I get home.
     
  17. remixulus

    remixulus Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6

    Yeah, I was going to say... I'm running stock rooted and got the message.

    Just reset my timer, I'll see if I can pull a download.
     
  18. btswein

    btswein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    11
    Remember that JH7 was pushed out to 15k customers per day, not everyone at once. So some of us could be seeing the SMS/prompt to update while others are not.

    Also, it could be a message urging everyone to upgrade to JH7 regardless of current firmware because JH7 will be required for Froyo.
     
  19. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    have yet to receive any message from at&t
     
  20. Andrewdroid

    Andrewdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Just got this message, ooh what could it be. Checked for software update, it couldn't connect. Checked with Kies Mini and it said I have the latest version. So nothing so far. I'm not saying the F word cuz we don't wanna jinx it haha.
     
  21. Andrewdroid

    Andrewdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oh and I'm running AT&T's JH7, I rooted and lag-fixed it but that's it. No fancy roms or anything like that.
     
  22. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    There is no word on this on Samsung's twitter nor facebook. They usually do post it, so this might be some kind of a glitch with AT&T.
     
  23. Matrioux

    Matrioux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just received several text messages from AT&T about my microcell being activated, failing activation, being activated, failing activation this morning. Its been activated and working correctly for over 2-3 months. I think they are just having some internal glitches that are sending out random old text messages that may have gotten 'stuck' in a queue somewhere.

    * The above is solely the opinion of the poster and in no way constitutes any official opinion of AT&T, android forums, or any other board participant.
     
    SlappyMcgee likes this.
  24. SlappyMcgee

    SlappyMcgee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    21
    Matrioux. I agree I with your theory on the mystery text from AT&T
     
  25. jeremytanner

    jeremytanner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sounds likely. I never did receive a text for the JH7 update. Something is a little goofy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...