New Wi-Fi Tether For Root works on the Lucid!


Last Updated:

  1. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10

    Advertisement
  2. quannumkid

    quannumkid Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm curious to know what kind of speeds you're getting on whatever device you have tethered to the Lucid. I'm still debating what my handset upgrade should be, but am also considering purchasing a wi-fi tablet which I would certainly want to tether to whatever LTE phone I buy.
     
  3. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Depends on where I am. I've gotten anything from 6 to 13Mb. Lately the 4G has been a little unreliable I've noticed. Shows bars and 4G symbol, but just sits there at times. It isn't consistent. I'm in Chicago.
     
  4. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    has anyone else who is rooted had success with this tether app? I've had no luck, my computer recognizes the network it creates but never successfully connects
     
  5. williegeorge

    williegeorge Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 Success with wifi tether on root lucid

    Shows up as ad-hoc, but works!
     
  6. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    hmmmm damn...it shows up as ad-hoc for me as well but it never successfully connects, any ideas anyone? Thanks ahead!
     
  7. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Two notes:

    1. I was able to unroot my phone, install the OTA, re-root and can confirm that the OTA does not conflict with the ability to use wireless tether.

    2. Mine runs in ADhoc as well, but I get internet access.

    One thing to check on is if you have any programs that control Wifi or data (I have JuiceDefender, which turns Wifi/Data off to save battery power), you'll be able to connect to the Lucid, but you won't get any internet access. Try disabling those programs and then launch Wifi tether and try it out.
     
  8. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    I checked for programs and I don't have any such as Juice Defender. Shabby suggested foxfi and that worked successfully for me so who knows. Thanks for the response though.
     
  9. platinumthomas

    platinumthomas Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, I'm a little late to the game, but my fianc
     
  10. LickeyMong

    LickeyMong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use foxfi it works fine I'm not rooted
     
  11. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    34
    Same here. My wife got a Lucid 2 months ago, moving from a Pre+, and needed to continue to tether her TouchPad to her phone. FoxFi will has worked superbly on her non-rooted Lucid.
     
  12. LickeyMong

    LickeyMong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use it with my wii,dsi,and iPod touch
     
  13. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    32
    My TP doesn't see my Lucid.I'm on CM9 classicnerd.I've also tried other rooted wifi tether apps ans it didn't see it either.All my other electronic devices see it fine.Any suggestions would be helpful,thanks.
     
  14. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    34
    Did you try Wifi Analyzer on your TouchPad, as I suggested in the thread you started? What were the results?
     
  15. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    32
    Sometimes it would see it,but it didn't wanna connect.
     
  16. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    34
    What channel did the Lucid show up on and was it congested?
     
  17. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    32
    Congested?1 and 6
     
  18. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    32
    Says adhoc isn't supported by Android?
     
  19. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    34
    As far as I know FoxFi is not doing an adhoc network.
     
  20. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    32
    Oops,I meant to say Wireless Tether for rooted
     
  21. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    34
    Probably my bad, this thread is for Wireless Tether for Root and not tether in general.
     
  22. gringo466

    gringo466 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have lg lucid running ICS 4.0.4 i have created a how to to get yours running wifi tether in infrastructure mode check it out over at my site

    sorry cant post links :( link will be in next post
     

Share This Page

Loading...