• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Newbie & Coding Languages

BridgetZtar

Lurker
Apr 18, 2012
Hi everyone, I'm new to programming but I have an idea for an app I want to build, so I'm starting to learn. I want to build for Android and iOS. I've started watching the free Stanford Programming Methodology lectures in itunes (going to watch the Stanford ios app dev lectures afterwards - which cover Objective C), and playing around in Eclipse. I feel like I'm totally working in the dark though, because this is all very, very new to me. If anyone out there programs for different mobile devices, I'd really appreciate it if you could answer these questions:
1) Is Java the best (only?) language to code Android apps?
2) Is it possible to use any Python?
3) iOS apps must be built with Objective C though, right?
4) Are there other languages I might want to use if I decide to turn my app into a 2d or 3d game?
I just want to clarify so I don't end up wasting time learning anything I don't really need right now. If anyone could recommend any other online lectures/tutorials I'd really appreciate it too...
Thanks! :)

edit* I just read a post further down asking people not to post threads asking how to write their app... oops... (?) I guess I just want some reassurance that I'm actually on the right track here. I know it's going to take a long time and a lot of work to get my head around this, but I definitely don't think it will take me years.

But if it does (although I really don't think it will), and I decided to employ an experienced programmer to help with a project, how much would you charge? How long would it take a gifted programmer to write an intricate interactive app?

Sorry for the short reply I was on my phone.

To try and answer your questions

1) Yes Java is the best for most things. Some apps can use C or C++ for performance (see the Android NDK) but need Java to handle the UI/App.