Newbie here again...tethering, possible or no???

Last Updated:

1. nardo89

nardo89 Well-Known Member

Ok so for a couple days now I've been doing more & more with this phone thanks to all of you guys who've provided me with top notch info, now I need help with this tethering business... I am rooted, have S-OFF, and am running Mobster ROM HD. I haven't been able to get any kind of tethering to work properly so that I actually can connect to the internet from my laptop which is running 64-Bit Windows 7 (not even sure if that's relevant). So far I've tried the actual WiFi tethering (couldn't connect to the internet). Then I tried usb tethering & got "error code 67" data failure message & another message saying something about me contacting sprint because my account does not include mobile hotspot & tethering. Then I tried the bluetooth tethering option, but couldn't figure out how. I turned on the bluetooth on my computer & phone, paired both of them, but then wasn't sure how to go about connecting to the internet :confused: ...

Before I got into this forum & started rooting & s-offing & stuff, I tried out Virgin's $15 Mobile Hotspot service for 1 month. After that month I took the Hotspot service back off of my VM account because I couldn't justify paying an extra $15 for such SLOW speeds...

2. Palmetto Fellow

Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

Under Device Profile in the settings, are you using Generic ICS/JB (wlan0)?

If not, try that, then report back.
    nardo89 likes this.
  3. ochenta

ochenta Well-Known Member

stormyhigh and nardo89 like this.
  4. ramjet73

ramjet73 Well-Known Member

Most of the AOSP based ROM's have WiFi tethering built-in but if you need to use the WiFi Tether app on one of those ROM's you need the version linked from this post and also need to use the settings described there. That version of WiFi Tether also works on Sense 4.1 ROM's like Viper3D which is what it was originally created to support.

nardo89 likes this.