Newbie here, really basic question

Last Updated:

1. varaonaid

varaonaid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hello there,

I'm brand new to Android. I'm following the upcoming release(s) on VZW as I'll be eligible for a phone upgrade before too long. :)

I've read a little about Android be update-able on phones and I'm wondering how that works. Is it directly from Android developers or are there phone specific or carrier specific updates? Will it void any warranty or is it expected that you'll upgrade to keep it current. Maybe the upgrade-ability is one of the advantages of Android - you keep getting a device with the latest features with each update?

Anyway, any info (or simply links) that could offer more info would be most appreciated. Thanks so much in advance!

Rae

Advertisement
  2. dkaufman1

dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

For a basic user...there is a simple and easy upgrade path..just wait. They have what is known as OTA (over the air) updates. Which means they send your phone a message, "would you like to update now?" (in case you were in the middle of things.) You accept and you are updated. Simple.

For applications you download, each developer can update their own app on their own schedule and most do. When they do they you also are notified but you have to go and manually (click a few buttons on the device) update, which then again happens OTA. Pretty easy. Sometimes it is best to wait and see if the comments on the update are positive.

Does that all make sense?

3. varaonaid

Hi!

Thanks for the reply. I think it makes sense. So, it sounds like no need to download firmware or some such thing. Do the updates come from Android or the carrier or the phone manufacturer? Are the releases relatively regular? Are the original G1's getting updates (or going to get updates) to the newer versions like Donut and Eclair when they're released?

4. dkaufman1