Newbie Question on Toggle SettingsSupport

Last Updated:

1. Netsurfer

Netsurfer New Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to both smart phones and android. I too have been having varying battery life issues with pretty much the same usage every day. I have had mine since the release date (i pre ordered) and have not seen the battery life improve at all. I actually began getting less battery life over the last week and i am probably a light user compared to most, less than 25 text, maybe 30 min talk time, and 10 min web surfing. Only game i have is a card game (Spades) and no twitter or anything. I keep bt and wifi off always.
    I have installed toggle settings following advice i found on here and set up profiles to use to dim the screen, etc, to save battery and it has helped.
    Now to my question. I see that there are options to stop running task and running services. i have gone through and set some to auto kill but there are still a bunch of services and task running. Are there any that i definitely shouldn't stop or any that will do harm by stopping? I notice a lot of the services say "background" and "idle", does this mean they are using battery? I want to get the most out of my battery but i don't want to turn my phone into a "dumb" phone either. I want to continue to get the services i switched for (text, email, internet, etc).
    Sorry for such a long post but i wanted to give all the information you may need.
    Thanks for any help.
    p.s. I have tried the plugging back in for 30 min technique and the results have varied from slightly better to horrible.
    p.s.#2 After proof reading my post i realized someone is going to tell me that i don't need a smart phone no more than i use it, but i'm beginning to use it more and know i need more battery life.:)

Advertisement
  2. dylo22

dylo22 Well-Known Member