Newbie Question


Which Launcher should I use?

  1. HTC SENSE

    52.4%
  2. ADW Launcher

    9.5%
  3. LauncherPro/Plus

    38.1%

Last Updated:

  1. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just started playing around with Launcher Pro and ADW this morning. Is there a guide to customize them with different widgets and such? I like the look better than SENSE, but I don't know where to DL widgets and whatnot. Also, which one do you suggest I use (ADW or LauncherPRo) Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    i can't speak to ADW, but there is a topic titled "how to use launcher pro" and the OP is very useful to a new user of the app. i'll try to get the link for you and edit this post if no one beats me to it.

    http://androidforums.com/tips-tricks-evo-4g/124474-how-use-launcherpro.html
     
  3. VSpike915

    VSpike915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
  4. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Beautiful Widgets is a popular package that ppl get for non-Sense launchers. SwitchPro is also popular for replacing the Sense radio toggles. Both are paid apps.

    Also take a look at the screenies thread (one of the stickied threads). A lot of people will tell you what widgets they used to get the look they are showcasing.
     
  5. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    used to love Launcher Pro, but kept getting Forced Closes with it;
    Havent tried it since the 2.2 update though
    Switched to ADW Launcher a couple of weeks ago, and no FC's, and there are alot of themes for it as well.
     
  6. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    I have always wondered, if you use adw or launcher pro, and decide to return to sense, do you just uninstall to get sense back, and do you still have your scenes set up?
     
  7. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    well, you dont even need to uninstall; you just make it so that Sense becomes your "home Screen"..and, when you go back to Sense, everything looks "HTC" like..
    If you go back to ADW or LP again, your screens go back to the "default" ADW or LaunchPro, and you have to re-configure them all over again..sort of a pain, but it only takes about 30 minutes to get everything back to how it was
    I keep a sheet of paper with my screen layouts on them, incase I do go back and forth..
    If you could put the HTC Homescreen in Landscsape, I would stick with it, but since you cant, its always gonna be an alternative launcher for me..
     
    damewolf13 likes this.
  8. Bagua

    Bagua Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    20
    Before you use Launcher Pro set your Htc sense to Clear Slate. I've read somewhere that Launcher Pro will run better.Don't forget to save your Htc Sense personalize scene, in case you want to roll back.
     
    stainlessray and damewolf13 like this.
  9. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Both ADW and LPro allow you to back up your homescreens to your SD card. Check the settings. I am still undecided which launcher to use. So I've configured all three and switch through them occasionally to compare.
     
  10. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    I can't even get to the settings for launcher pro. I can only get 3 screens and that doesn't work for me.:confused:

    NM. I found it under preferences. DUH!
     
  11. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    New question...When you are using ADW, what does the little "lab" on homescreen bar do? When I hit it, nothing happens. Sorry for such elementary questions.
     
  12. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    you can configure what that little "lab" does; its like a toolbar, when it opens..I've got my 15 most used program on it.
    I have set it to open when I swipe up on it..you can set that in the ADW preferenes..
    There are some themes in the market for it..check out the BUFF theme; its the same guy who did the cool stuff for iphones..
     
    damewolf13 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...