newbie questionGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hello everyone, I'm new here this is my second post. Just curious how I can tell which software i have in my eris. Also what do all these terms mean, such as rooting? If I need to update how would I be able to do that ota? Thank you all.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    For software I assume it's Android 1.5 for you. Go under Settings < About Phone and it should be there.

    When Android 2.1 comes out, it will prompt you to update automatically.
     
  3. graphitedv

    graphitedv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    24
    If it is a new phone, you have 1.5. You can check by going into Settings--> About This Phone.

    Rooting gives you the ability to install ROM's that are custom made as well as remove apps. It also voids your warranty... I speak from experience on this.

    OTA is not available yet and when it comes, the phone will let you know.
     
  4. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Cool thanks do they have a drop date for the os release? I know from experience with my blackberry that Verizon likes to wait till last... BTW what's a cupcake, I assume not hostess?
     
  5. n1ghtwish

    n1ghtwish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    haha "cupcake" is the "code name" for Android 1.5
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    No solid dates on the OTA yet. Lots of speculation though.

    Cupcake is the name that Google gave the 1.5 OS. They like to use dessert names for some reason. 1.6 was donut. I guess someone was hungry.
     
  7. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12

    :) I laughed so hard at that!!!
     
  8. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Lol I will never speak of its name "cupcake" I will sound like a fairy. Thanks for the input anything else I should know?
     
  9. Ty07allstar

    Ty07allstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    7
    Can't you just unroot it before you take it back?
     
  10. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I r00fled at this. The last person I heard use this was probably me..in high school. It was such an effective word. I'm bringing it back.
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    @NickDroid sounds to me like you have a lot of reading to do.

    for rooting info All Things Root (Eris) - Android Forums and be sure to read the first posts in all the stickies

    for info on upgrading to 2.1 leaks http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/51383-upgrading-2-1-tutorial.html

    And if you want to stay on 1.5 and need someone to talk to Frisco is always here :D

    Also Caddyman and Ofthedamned are great about answering questions, but do a search before asking. Chances are someone has thought of it before. And welcome to the forum Nick
     
  12. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thank you very much, I do have a question I did the searching yesterday before I joined, I'm trying to set up my mobile banking via web. When I get through it halfway the web page says length required and I cannot continue. Any ideas?
     
  13. AndroidFantic

    AndroidFantic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    6
    try using a wifi connection think that there is something up with using 3g to set it up or just re install the program and see if that fixes it



    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  14. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    I tried WiFi with the same results but can't just redo it cuz I had it on a prior phone and have to start fresh
     

Share This Page

Loading...