• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Newbie Questions motorola triumph

kaymarie

Lurker
Dec 31, 2012
I'm quite new to the whole tinkering with your phone scene. I recently wanted to update my motorola triumph from 2.2 to 2.3 but seeing there was no update from Virgin Mobile, I set out to the internet to find a way to do it.
I ended up downloading cyanogenmod 7 (restored I think).
As far as I know, I downloaded it all correctly but I still have fears of "bootlooping" or "bricking". When do these things usually occur?
And if I have cyanogenmod 7, is my phone considered rooted?
Sorry for the newbie questions, just trying to figure everything out.:rolleyes:

I'm quite new to the whole tinkering with your phone scene. I recently wanted to update my motorola triumph from 2.2 to 2.3 but seeing there was no update from Virgin Mobile, I set out to the internet to find a way to do it.
I ended up downloading cyanogenmod 7 (restored I think).
As far as I know, I downloaded it all correctly but I still have fears of "bootlooping" or "bricking". When do these things usually occur?
And if I have cyanogenmod 7, is my phone considered rooted?
Sorry for the newbie questions, just trying to figure everything out.:rolleyes:

Did you just take CM7 from source or did you install one of the versions made for this phone, you have to use a version that is made for the phone or it won't work correctly or at all really. I would recommend the MTDEV version, most things work on it you can find it here: http://androidforums.com/triumph-all-things-root/590069-rom-mtdev-cm7-build-2012-12-28-a.html make sure you follow the standard install instructions as well (it is also recommended that you make a backup first), Clear Cache, Factory reset, Clear Dalvik Cache, then install rom and install gapps

Upvote 0