Newby to Android and rooting question.

Last Updated:

1. chrisbone123

chrisbone123 Member This Topic's Starter

I am a total newbie to all this stuff.

I just have a question.
    I want to to root my Evo just so I can tether and delete some of these sprint apps.
    I upgraded to Froyo already.

I looked at all the tutorials and I'm not sure which ones to follow , and I'm not sure if I need to follow the whole tutorial or not.

Can someone point me in the right direction.

Thanx in advance.

Advertisement
  2. philly0128

philly0128 Well-Known Member

since you're on froyo you have to follow this "root step by step" follow everything, except you can skip the unrevoked forever part if you don't understand it or don't want to do that part. then continue below. There's also a link for a video walk through, watch the videos 1st so you can see what you're about to do step by step.

Good luck.

chrisbone123 likes this.
  3. tsipa

tsipa Well-Known Member

I would recommend just doing simpleroot once you downgrade your phone. If you do unrevoked 3 then you should also do unrevoked forever to unlock nand.

4. uminchu

uminchu Well-Known Member

If your phone, for whatever reason, is unrooted on 2.2 (Froyo), then logically, you would want to use a 2.2 tutorial to root it. Basically, the gist of rooting 2.2 is to downgrade your phone back to 2.1 (Eclair), root it, unlock nand, make a backup, flash a 2.2 rooted ROM, and back it up again. As to whether or not to follow all the steps, it seems obvious to me: of course you want to follow all the steps. When in doubt, always choose patience and thoroughness over haste. In a step by step procedural guide, why would you want to skip any steps?