News widget auto-update.


Last Updated:

  1. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Has anybody managed to get the news widget to auto-update? Twitter is fine just the news widget.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lukehluke

    Lukehluke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have not got it to auto update.
     
  3. Proudest_Monkey

    Proudest_Monkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you go onto the widget, click on the menu button and select the settings option. I think it is default to manual sync. Just select the sync options and choose 30 mins etc.

    Hope this helps.

    Edit: By "onto the widget" press on the top bar of the news feed. It will take you to the news app and then do the rest.
     
  4. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    If only it would sync with google reader!
     
  5. Case

    Case Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    What does it sync with? Do you enter RSS feeds or something?
     
  6. Proudest_Monkey

    Proudest_Monkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    RSS is an option, there are also some defaults you can choose from such as BBC
     
    Case likes this.
  7. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes, I have tried that still no cigar. Has anybody actually had their widget auto-update, I haven't managed once.

    I am back with FeedR at the moment which is a shame because it is a nice widget.
     
  8. Proudest_Monkey

    Proudest_Monkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had some problems with my mail and twitter syncing. Apparently with android, if you change something, you need to switch the phone off and remove the battery then start it all up again. It fixed my problem so try that.
     
  9. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thank-you for the suggestions but I am more interested in if it is a common problem. I am not exactly new to Android phones, this is my third.

    Has anybody had an auto-update of the widget. I.E. downloading new feeds without opening the app?
     
  10. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Right, after three days messing about with the news widget I have come to the conclusion that it is total crap.

    It has updated once, once only despite being set for 30 mins for 3 days.
     
  11. vx41uk

    vx41uk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like this is a problem with the application as more of us discovering this problem, thought htc had ironed out all the glitches most annoying its nice when all the bells and whistles work, whats weird is a friend of mine has same htc handset and his weather app updates reular as clockwork also lives short distance away othe than that its wicked phone :D just shame sum one ie developers cant sort this out!!!!!! ps have good easter all off you..
     
  12. sluma

    sluma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
  14. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    For those that don't know you can manually update with a short press on where the last update time is displayed at the bottom of the widget.

    From when I got up this morning my news widget updated every hour as it should, it then stopped mid-afternoon for no apparent reason.
     
  15. omnifish

    omnifish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Desire last week, and so far I don't see any of the apps or widgets auto-refreshing, apart from the Google sync stuff.

    My news reader doesn't update. My friend stream doesn't update. My facebook app doesn't update.

    Am I doing something wrong, or is something very broken?
     
  16. Paradroid

    Paradroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using ATK? I found that my news widget stopped updating, even after manually forcing it to as you describe. I had started using Advanced Task Killer and was routinely killing everything after startup, just to save battery. I think that killing "news" also stopped the widget from sync-ing. Excluding "news" from ATK seems to work for me.
     
  17. Nodders

    Nodders Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    Got a Desire a few days ago and also suffering the same problem with the News widget (no custom ROM in sight). which is a shame as it is a nice looking widget, but effectively useless.
     
  18. Spaceprobe

    Spaceprobe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    57
    Had my desire HD for two weeks, the HTC news widget stopped updating on the 18th. Cleared all the data and now not able to put new stuff on. Given up and trying the Android news widget (which I think I prefer), so far no problems. Have written to HTC but judging by all the complaints on various sites not expecting to get anywhere
     

Share This Page

Loading...