News Widget from N1General


Last Updated:

  1. sdmania

    sdmania Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking for the news widget like on the N1? I could have sworn I read somewhere that it was pre-loaded. Anyone know if this is so and if not have a good one in mind.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    If it doesn't appear in your widgets section as "News and Weather" try searching the net for "Genie News and Weather widget". I'm sure you can find the .apk somewhere.
     
  3. mobilehavoc

    mobilehavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    40
    Be careful, it's a battery drain and eats up your phone storage. It's definitely nice but not sure it's worth the hassle. Just my 2 cents.
     
  4. sdmania

    sdmania Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it doesn't seem to be there. When I go to a empty screen I long press>widgets and not there.
     
  5. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    This very much depends on what you set the update frequency to and whether or not you tell it to prefetch the articles.

    Prefetching for sure will drain battery and take up a bit of storage so I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  6. phobic

    phobic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    42
  7. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
  8. falltime

    falltime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had this widget on my Eris and loved it; but now I am noticing it scrolls through about 5 stories and then freezes on the Incredible...Anyone else?
     
  9. Shoop

    Shoop Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too was looking for this widget however I'm having problems with it.

    1. It displays pages in full view with no way to resize them.

    2. it gives me: "Notice: JavaScript is currently turned off". I have it turned on though.

    Is there a way to fix these issues? Or is this just not compatible with the Incredible?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...