1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Nexus 4 Toolkit: One-Click Root, Unlock, Recovery, Drivers & More


Last Updated:

  1. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    178

    Advertisement
  2. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nice one, thanks for the info! Last few days have been tough without an easy way to root!
     
  3. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    Can someone help me here? I am a complete moron noob neo maxi zoom dweebie.

    I had someone root and unlock my Gnex for me and then I took over after that installing all the ROMs via Goo.

    I have no clue what Im doing now with the N4. I downloaded the program at the top to my ancient laptop. I turned on USB debugging on the phone. I got the phone into fastboot. Then when the computer tried to install the drivers, I got this error "cannot start this hardware. There was a problem installing this hardware - Google Nexus 4 ADB Interface. This device cannot start (code 10)"

    WTF?

    I cant seem to figure out how to unlock via my mac so Im stuck using this old laptop running xp. Can anyone assist?
     
  4. RaLeX

    RaLeX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    15
    I used this... worked like a charm. How could you not donate?

    Anyways, when I click SuperSU, I get an error after checking for updates saying installation failed! I'm not even sure what I need SuperSU for in the first place, but that doesn't seem right...

    Secondly, do you guys use ROMmanager at all? or all manually flash whatever ROM you want to use after going into CWM recovery?
    I really want to check out one the ROM's that allow for the digital battery circle in the status bar and customization of the on-screen buttons.

    Third and final... I want to do this-
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2039553
    has anyone done it? At the risk of sounding like an idiot, is it easy to do? file browser/mounting/search/change thing...
     
  5. hstroph

    hstroph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    95
    I installed Rom Manager (paid) with the idea that it would someday be useful for what I want to do with my phone. Imho the cost is trivial in support of people (?) who are doing demonstrably good work in the open-source environment. (The question mark indicates uncertainty about plurality, but make-up your own joke.)

    I want to be very cautious before using it however, in the hopes of installing a custom ROM if needed for eventual USB OTG etc. yet maintaining my apps, data and configurations without problems. Someday I'll certainly make a catastrophic mistake, and hope to have complete recovery possible ... not yet confident of it though.

    Learning has come by participation and study amongst all y'all ... that's why I'm scared.
     
  6. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    FYI Everyone, the link in the OP is no longer working. Check the All Things Root sticky at the top for another toolkit! :)
     
  7. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    178
    Link works fine?
     
  8. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    Haha, at home it works. At work I get a 703 Error. Darn firewalls. :rolleyes::fight:
     
  9. jtmorris

    jtmorris Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Rooting rookie question.
    I've rooted 2 devices: acer liquid e & xoom
    I really want to be able to use TB

    However both times I rooted there has been severe performance decrease. Severe. To the point of unusable. With my (Canadian) xoom I eventually had to convert it to get because CWM was lagging it so bad.

    If I use this one click method, what ways will my device suffer?
    Is there a way to root without CWM?
    Can I get it back to ooriginal settings if I have difficulties like my previous 2 times?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  10. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    178
    Rooting does not affect the phone's performance at all. It doesn't change anything that would cause your device to suffer a performance decrease. I don't know what you did on your previous devices, but rooting wasn't the cause. I'm running a rooted stock ROM right now with CWM installed and my phone is as fast as ever.

    You don't have to install CWM to root, but if you want to flash zips, ROMs, and kernels it makes it much easier.

    You can always revert back to stock if need be.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,171
    Likes Received:
    21,943
    I'm going to echo Banished Angel here. There should be no performance hit. Quite the contrary, many root to improve performance. However, if the process of rooting required the flashing of an insecure kernel, you might have used something that wasn't entirely compatible or was severely under-clocked by default to improve battery life.

    I rooted my N4 immediately and have CWM touch with zero issues.
     
  12. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    Used this the other day, super handy!
     
  13. nateap87

    nateap87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    51
    if all i want to do is flash the franco kernel and keep my stock rom, what all do i need to do? i don't want to do anymore than i need to do just to get the kernel working.
     
  14. Biaviian

    Biaviian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    52
    I'm hoping somebody can help me. I am unable to get my phone into fastboot mode. The toolkit just sits there waiting for adb mode but the phone is already in adb mode. I believe I remember using a tool, for my Gnex, that removed all of the drivers and re-installed everything however I am unable to find that tool. I am assuming it is a bad driver issue.


    EDIT: I finally got it to work after 3 days of trying and uninstalling/installing the drivers. No idea why it worked now but thankfully it did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...