Nexus 5 losing phone signalSupport


Last Updated:

  1. xbroogw1

    xbroogw1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Has anyone else got this problem? My phone keeps losing the phone signal. It happens about 2-3 times a day. I have lightflow installed and when there is no coverage the light flashes white.

    Not sure what is causing the phone to lose signal. Im on Vodafone UK. I never had this problem with my Galaxy S2.
     

    Advertisement
  2. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    9
    Now you mention it, I've been getting the same, I'm on tmobile in UK and same happens, I thought it was just network but maybe not?
     
  3. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Not noticed, but have set Light Flow up for No Signal to see what happens.
     
  4. xbroogw1

    xbroogw1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've had my phone about a week and it has happened every day. It's not out of coverage for long and i don't have to restart the phone.
     
  5. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    267
    The radio in the N5 is definately not as good as say an HTC one - which has to have the best radio/antenna system in a phone at the moment.
    I don't lose signal because I am in a very good coverage area.

    That said.. I don't lose it as some of you are describing.
     
  6. xbroogw1

    xbroogw1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    I live in a major city in the UK and have not had this problem before with any of the phones I've had. I have always been on the same network.
     
  7. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah I was with same network in the same place with my old razr and don't remember ever seeing this before.
    As said earlier, thought it was network related till you brought this up.
    I don't reset phone either, give it a couple of minutes and all is good again
     
  8. chukka63

    chukka63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    32
    Unfortunately Nexus devices have crap reception/signal.
     
  9. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I never had a problem with any of them aside from the GNex call drop issue which was fixed via OTA.
     
  10. GingerRob

    GingerRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    20
    I thought i was just getting a bad signal at work. Will be on H then suddenly drop to G then E. After a couple of minutes it jumps back to H. On O2.
     
  11. chukka63

    chukka63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    32
    I've had 2 N4's and on my 2nd N5 and all suffered bad reception.
     
  12. bigt

    bigt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    42

    Mine gets a signal in places my HTC One S didn't, ie in shops and things
     
  13. johnnyolivares

    johnnyolivares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    96
    My signal/reception is great.
    But I do lose signal about 2-3 times a day. Its only for about 30 seconds. Im sitting playing a game and I have 2 bars then I have none but they come right back
     
  14. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Well, after setting Light Flow to blink when out of signal, I don't see any outages in normal conditions.

    I also say that the wi-fi is relatively strong on this device, I've had devices drop out when I'm in my bedroom with the router being in the opposite lower corner of the house. I can stream without trouble with the N5.
     
  15. ProJecX

    ProJecX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting the same thing on mine on T-Mobile. I've even had voice mail several times now with out my phone ringing or showing a missed call. Hope a OTA update can fix this. This is my business phone as well.
     
  16. chukka63

    chukka63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    32
    Common problem.I had this on my N4.An update to sort it would be nice.
     
  17. dhiraj_santhanam

    dhiraj_santhanam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Same problem here it happend to me twice
    I bought the phone two weeks back and suddenly the signal was dead has to switch off my mob to get it back
     
  18. chukka63

    chukka63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    32
    or just wait a few mins and it normally shoots back up again.This often happens after taking my phone out of my pocket
     
    dhiraj_santhanam likes this.
  19. Morphy

    Morphy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an issue with mine at work where the signal is low on three and was a problem with my S2 before. Now my nexus 5 loses signal frequently however when I regain it (signal bars ) I won't have an active connection still. I have to turn the radio on and off to regain a connection. Anyone else seen this? Its either a bug with the radio not establishing a connection or the signal bars not representing the signal. I'm inclined to think its the former as although the signal is bad it does come and go in my experience.
     
  20. chukka63

    chukka63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    32
    I read on here somewhere i could take my handset to my carrier and get them to check the signal radio.Well i went to vodafone today and they told me they would have to send it away
     
  21. zipred

    zipred Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    419
    I'm on my second Nexus 5. I "lost" the first one to my wife :) it was on AT&T and worked flawlessly, even in areas I know are rather weak.

    I bought a second Nexus 5 for myself after being robbed :) it's on T-Mobile and enjoying the same great calling experiences I did with the AT&T version.

    Finally I have several friends & co workers that also have bought the Nexus 5. Not one has any issues. Why others are having problems is a bit puzzling, hopefully you'll all get them sorted out properly.
     
  22. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,393
    An important fact to note is that there is actually two different version of the Nexus 5. The LG-D820 is the North American version, and the LG-D821 is the European version. It's unlikely, but maybe there is a difference between them as far as radio strength goes.
     
  23. Gatman

    Gatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    69
    Coming from Verizon it's hard for me to compare what I get on my N5 to what I got before (at least comparing the actual dB of signal levels). Here is what I have noticed this far:

    1. On Verizon, I had dead spots in a radius of about 1 mile from my home. My Droid RAZR Maxx would show no bars and would drop calls and have no data in these areas.
    2. I am on Straight Talk (AT&T) with the N5. I still have areas where I get no bars around my house, but I can still receive calls and haven't dropped any when I'm in these areas.
    3. I generally can still get data even though I have no bars, albeit it is often very slow. As long as I show at least one nub in the bars I am usually good to go.
    4. On VZ, I generally always had LTE if I had data. Almost never fell back to 3g.
    5. On the N5, if the signal is low, I hop around between LTE, H and 3G (but 3G is pretty rare). I do notice that when I have a weaker signal I change between LTE and H a fair amount, but if I have at least two bars I'm usually solid on LTE.

    So initially I was concerned because the signal strength "appears" lower on ST than it did with Verizon, but even though I'm seeing less bars, my service has been more reliable (no dropped calls at all, and I even still usually have data even when no bars are showing). I realize this isn't exactly a scientific observation here, but I've had the phone a month now and have been pretty happy with my experience.

    Part of it makes me wonder if it displays the signal strength with the same levels that my old phone/VZ did. For example, is what the old phone showed as 4 bars (full signal) the same DB was what this phone shows as 3 (if that makes any sense). Is there a "standard" for what to display for signal strenth that all the manufacturers follow?

    Thanks,

    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...