Nexus 7 batterySupport

1. JxT

JxT Active Member

Hi, I'm relatively new to the Nexus 7 and was just wondering if my battery usage is normal. I have the brightness set pretty low, roughly 10-20%, and about the only thing I've done is read comics on websites and browsing. With 16% battery left, my screen on time is only 5h 50m. I read the tablet can get 9hr out of it of actual use so I'm wondering why mine seems to be draining faster than their quoted time? Also I turned off all the sync features, bluetooth, gps, nfc, and have wifi set to be on only during wake.

Advertisement
  2. pastafarian

pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

The 9 hour "mark" is with wifi turned off. having wifi on and streaming data will effect battery life significantly. 6+ hours of use with the screen on doesn't sound unreasonable.
  3. metalbiker

metalbiker Well-Known Member

idk i just put mine on charger after being off charger for 14 hrs and its on %45 battery left, yeah screen was off for a good 3 or so hrs, but the battery is pretty amazing and it had wifi on the whole time with screen on auto... my gnex dies in about 6 hrs with auto screen and playing around on media sites
  4. JxT

JxT Active Member

What does it say actual screen time on is though? So that 9hr test was with wifi off and doing what though? I figure if they did the test even just watching movies wouldn't that drain more battery than just surfing the web?
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  5. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

The screen uses the vast majority of battery. We need screen in time and brightness level to get a good picture of how you use it
  6. whs37

whs37 Well-Known Member

I have set my screen to manual because I have very bad eyesight and the automatic setting does not suffice. The WiFi is on during sleep - mainly because of the GrooveIP.

With that I also get about 6 hours. That is better than my laptops.
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  7. JxT

JxT Active Member