Nexus 7 does not see my phone's tethered wifiSupport


Last Updated:

  1. caspian915

    caspian915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have Wifi Tether for Root on my phone and my laptop sees (and is currently using) the phone's connection. However, my Nexus 7 does not. I've tried other tether apps as well, same problem.

    What could possibly be the issue? The lack of 3G is a real sore point for me with this device...
     

    Advertisement
  2. zoxxo

    zoxxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    74
    What phone do you have? What tether app are you trying to use? Does the N7 see the phone at all, or is it complete not there? Do you have a proxy setup on the tether app?

    If you have a proxy setup on the phone and if it's not setup on the tablet, then you will have problems connecting...
     
  3. caspian915

    caspian915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    The app is called Wifi Tether for Root and I'm using it on an LG Optimus Elite for Virgin Mobile. There have been a issues with tethering with this phone, but like I said, I've been able to connect my laptop to the network AndroidTether with no setup whatsoever, with this app and others. However, none of the default open networks created by any of these apps shows up in the list on my Nexus 7.

    I'm not sure what you mean by can the Nexus 7 see my phone. It doesn't see any network created by the phone. With bluetooth I can pair the devices but neither seems to want to connect to the other.
     
  4. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    When you turn on WiFi can it see any networks, or just not the one on your phone?
     
  5. caspian915

    caspian915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    It sees other networks just fine, at least the important ones (it also sees lots of "open" networks that just end up "Saved" and useless for whatever reason.) It just doesn't see the network put out by my phone, even though the laptop has no problem with it (and the laptop, or rather, netbook is an MSI Wind U100 with a relatively crappy RealTek wifi card).
     
  6. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    Not a clue, but it shouldn't save any networks that you haven't tried to connect to. The only ones in the list should be available networks and previously connected networks. You can long press on one and select Forget network and it should drop from the list.
     
  7. caspian915

    caspian915 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah, I'm not concerned with those per se, I know I can just make them forgotten. It still doesn't explain why my crappy old netbook can pick up a wifi network and the N7 can't.

    Is there something specific about a tethered wifi network created by phone (a technical difference... band? frequency? whatever), that the N7 can't pick up? Even then, I know other people tether the N7 to their phone on other networks...
     
  8. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    I use FoxFi on an unrooted Galaxy Nexus and it shows up just like any other network.
     
  9. miltk

    miltk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    foxfi rocks. easy tether too.
     
  10. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Strange. I've used wifi tether on my LTEvo with my n7 with no issue. In wifi tethers settings, try tuning on mss clamping and routing fix. Don't know if it will help, but worth a try.
     
  11. zoxxo

    zoxxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    74
    Another vote for FoxFi. Easy to setup and it works very well...
     
  12. strollin

    strollin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    18
    FoxFi on my Droid Razr works great with my N7. Keep us posted as to what you find out about why your N7 doesn't see the wifi hotspot on your phone.
     
  13. gbynum

    gbynum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1

    Further, some sharing apps have limits to connected devices. Determine if your app has a limit and if so, resolve it.

    Some clients have limits as well ... try deleting one from your Nexus for test.
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,269
    Likes Received:
    7,849
    I am using WiFi tether also fro, my 3VO to the N7 and connects just fine and shows up every time in the WiFi Networks, weird that it does not show up in yours. I don't think it is a setting issue, that would be for connection, you should still see the unit on your N7

    Also which phone are you trying to tether from, is it in GB o ICS, as mentioned I don't think it is setting related, but I will give you the ICS settings that work for me

    ICS

    Device profile: Generic ICS
    Enable Wifi; Encryption: checked
    Change Passphrase: (your custom choice)
    ChangeSSID: (your custom choice)
    Enable Access-Control: NOT checked
    Routing Fix: Checked
     
  15. oldster

    oldster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you need a separate app to wireless tether. I just use normal wireless connection
    To connect to 3g on my HTC phone. It connects seamlessly.
     
  16. miltk

    miltk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    because the tether app frees you up to go friggin' anywhere you want and still connect. you don't have to look for free wifi,,,you already have it. and if you have the droid maxx, like me, the battery is worth it's weight in gold.

    listen to this:):):), i use the tether for my ipad. it's invaluable for many reasons but mainly, hotel wifi blows chunks. anyway, so i'm using foxfi in the park, and at 45minutes there's a default popup message warning me that i've been using tether for a long period and i should conserve my battery. CLEARLY this message was meant for ordinary androids because my droid maxx should 90% full :D:D:D

    foxfi + droid maxx is da shhh***t
     
  17. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,891
    Likes Received:
    6,117
    Never could get Foxfi to work on my Gnex.
    Wifi tether works just fine. Which version of the app are you using? Have you tried a different one? You can also try changing the channel of the connection. I believe it usually sets it up as Channel 5 by default (least it is on mine).
     
  18. strollin

    strollin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    18
    Do you pay extra for the Hotspot feature on your HTC phone? FoxFi allows using my phone's Hotspot feature (and my unlimited data cap) without paying extra $$ to Verizon each month to enable the Hotspot feature of my phone with a 2G data cap.
     
  19. oldster

    oldster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't pay more. My orange Panther bundle data allowance allows tethering. I just tick the wireless hotspot box in settings and bingo. You set a password up and my nexus connects just like home wireless.
     
  20. zoxxo

    zoxxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you are on a capped data plan, you can use a third party tether application with Verizon and not get charged anything extra. Tether away to your heart's content.

    Those of us still on the unlimited plan are not so lucky. We still can be charged for tethering and must hide our tethering if we want to do so.

    Here are two articles online that talk about the ruling against Verizon:

    Let my Wi-Fi go: FCC rules Verizon can't charge for Wi-Fi tethering

    Verizon to stop blocking tethering apps, settles with FCC for $1.25 million
     
  21. JanComputerman

    JanComputerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    37
    what I found out is that my Nokia hotspot slashed tethering app using wifi makes an ad hoc network and the Nexus 7 will not connect to ad hoc network. My iPad will connect my phone but the Nexus 7 doesn't even see it and that's the problem.
     
  22. Daxst3r

    Daxst3r Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    On Sunday I found an issue similar to this..... I was at a friends house, his wifi was too weak in the garden (kept dropping out), so I switched on my phones hotspot and the N7 refused to connect.

    Basically, if you are within range of another "remembered" wifi, it confuses the hell outta the N7.
     
  23. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    I did fine switching between my N1 hot spot and home wifi a number of times yesterday.
     
  24. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    Well, this sucks. Just upgraded to JB on the GN and FoxFi doesn't work anymore.
     
  25. gbynum

    gbynum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    WHOA here ... one of us is very confused as to what needs to run on what for tethering.

    FoxFi runs on the PHONE and turns it into a mobile hotspot. When I installed it (no a DroidX), I also installed the extra part that MAY not have been required. I gave the FoxFi application a name and password of my choosing.

    Once that is done to the PHONE, "any" WiFi device should be able to get internet connectivity by using that WiFi connection. There is no special software running on my N7 nor old Dell notebook, and both connect to it fine. My Verizon plan forbids tethering without a $30/month fee, so all I've done is tested.
     

Share This Page

Loading...