Nexus One first impressions


Last Updated:

  1. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I just received my Nexus One a few hours ago.

    Some stuff:

    Battery life seems like it's going to be decent, but not spectacular. I've been playing with it for a few hours, and the battery is down to around half. I'd guess it's not going to have any Pre-style problems with getting through a day. It'll be a while before a proper answer comes out on battery life, obviously.

    The screen doesn't seem to be oleophobic. Sadly, it's a total fingerprint magnet.

    The trackball notification light is cool - pulses white when a new message or email comes in. Repeats every few seconds if the phone is on standby (this is an option).

    It's incredibly fast at everything.

    I'm using a T-Mobile T-Zones $5.99 plan on this. I ordered the phone unlocked and just stuck in my old SIM card. No problems at all - seems to be full 3G. Didn't even have to enter any settings.

    The reports about the touch-sensitive buttons on the front being a bit flaky might be accurate. I think it's a combination of two things: sometimes they genuinely don't respond, but mostly I think it's that they need a longish press to be activated (not just a tap) so that they aren't accidentally pushed.

    Speakerphone is loud and clear. I haven't made any calls on it yet to check how the noise cancellation works, however.

    Trying to switch my T-mobile voicemail to Google Voice through the Settings interface fails every time ("Voicemail number change unsuccessful. Please contact your carrier if this problem persists." This means that hitting the voicemail button goes to the unused T-mobile mailbox number. I'd already manually routed all my voicemail to my GV number anyway, but it'd be nice to have that last leg of phone integration to it. No idea why manually routing worked - presumably it's just re-sending the same codes, right? Is there a menubar VM notification from GV if I get this working (i.e not just an SMS)?

    Coming from an iPhone 2G, the phone seems super fast, and the OS is plenty "polished". Things fade in and out, little neat notifications appear and the fonts and icons are pleasingly clear. No complaints at all on that front. I can't get over listening to internet radio while surfing the web at 3G speed... pretty nice.

    All in all, I'm very very happy.

    Shoot me any questions - happy to answer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. XM_JDM

    XM_JDM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is my question...How come you didnt add this to the other thread titles, first impressions...
     
  3. samson_420

    samson_420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is the keyboard compared to the iPhone? Is it the same size or bigger?

    Do the keys seem to stick or not respond 100% at all times. . . ?
     
  4. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's similar in size to the iPhone's, although the keys have slightly less space between them. Occasionally it seemed to miss a tap, but I quickly installed Swype, which is fast and easy.
     
  5. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about starting a new thread - feel free to merge if any mods are on.
     
  6. lithium1330

    lithium1330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the initial impression! Did you say you are getting 3G speed with your standard internet/data plan? Can you do a speed test? Also, it would be great if you can provide an update on the battery life. My WinMo (T-Mo Shadow) barely lasts a full day (I have exchange sync setup for instantaneous update). I really need a phone that will last a full day (12 - 16hrs).
     
  7. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem. It's for sure more than EDGE speeds. The Speedtest app gave downstream of 538 kbps and 364 up. A far cry from 7.2Mbps, for sure, but seems to be 3G for me. From what people say, though, those speed tests seem to vary a lot from test to test. (second try was 685 down, 424 up).

    I'll let you know about the battery.
     
  8. rookie1082

    rookie1082 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can i download swype?
     
  9. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0

    Follow the instructions on this site:

    Swype keyboard preview for Droid leaked DroidMuff.in

    Really important point that isn't clear from the instructions there:

    Once you've followed their instructions, go to a text field anywhere. You have to hold you finger down on the text field, and choose "Input Method" in the menu that pops up. Then choose Swype to activate it.
     
  10. nccruz

    nccruz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    does swype have the microphone key?
     
  11. JamesC

    JamesC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey! I've been looking everywhere for an answer to this (as well as a few others I've found asking on google's mobile forums), but no one seems to have answered it yet. Is the AGPS chip AGPS and GPS or just AGPS. I.e. do you need to have cell phone signal or wifi to get a lock? I understand it'll take longer, but if you're in the woods (or without a data plan) is the gps useless?

    Google maps won't work without internet access, but there are programs to cache maps. It would be quite helpful if this could function as a backup gps unit, and everything I've found so far is somewhat vague in this regard. Most of the early reviews just briefly mention the map capability, and nobody has really commented on the gps.

    Thanks!
     
  12. James Bell

    James Bell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    @JamesC:
    AGPS speeds up the initial GPS lock but does not make much difference (any?) after that. I had a Nokia phone with no AGPS and it took 2 minutes to get a GPS fix. Later when I got AGPS working that time was about 20 seconds. There was no difference in performance after the initial lock though.
     
  13. omatix

    omatix Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but it's a prerelease. I'd guess that the final version will.
     
  14. boosterman

    boosterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    So... Will T-Zone work instead of Android Data Plan?
     
  15. cdmta

    cdmta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    36
    are you guys able to get insurance on your phones thru t-mobile or google?
     
  16. pjmurphy77

    pjmurphy77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice recap- i've had mine about 24 hours and am having similar experiences. two things:

    1) the tmo plan we are on does not allow for number forwarding. since we are on "flexplans" they have disabled the forwarding feature which i think is completely bogus
    2) when i have the phone in my car, i tend to keep it in my cupholder. However, the way it sits, i cannot see the trackball light up for notifcations. Has anyone found a way to get the small led on the top right to blink like it does on the droid ?

    thanks!
     
  17. raremage

    raremage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it will be several days or even weeks before we start to get good info on battery life. As the N1 starts to get into more and more hands, the data will firm up.
     
  18. chalito

    chalito New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone knows if I'm in Puerto Rico how can't I get the updates to the nexus1.
     
  19. summerboy18

    summerboy18 Guest

    How do I ge t-zone data plan? I'm currently on AT&T and would love to Ty out my first android dvice with cheap plan on tmobile with 3g speed any help would be apprexciated
     
  20. lithium1330

    lithium1330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    T-Zone is no longer available as an option and T-Zone is not 3G, but EDGE. That means speed should be the same/similar to you putting your ATT SIM into N1.
     
  21. summerboy18

    summerboy18 Guest

    Thanks for your answer

    I have anothr question to ask however

    would it be worth to get nexus one and just pop in my AT&T sim card? I usually around wifi most of time and is it possible to tether nexus one to iPhone ?
     
  22. samson_420

    samson_420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0

    That is 100% Crap. . . .I know from experience. . .

    I still have my grandfathered 5.99 T-Zones and I am able to get 3G where ever it is available on my Behold 2.

    But, it is only available after badgering the shit out of a T-Mogul Supervisor. . . . . :)
     
  23. lithium1330

    lithium1330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ask the T-Mobile guy if it's worth it running iPhone on T-Mo's network. ;) I read just today tethering (to PCs) is not supported by N1 today. Kinda a bummer.
     
  24. scottricketts

    scottricketts Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's so sharp and fast you almost don't believe it.
     
  25. samson_420

    samson_420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0

    No shit. . . . I think it's in the verbatim they have to say. . . .

    Yet, my iPhone 2g and 3g will keep up with a phone running on a 3g network(almost).
     

Share This Page

Loading...