Nexus one Recovery and Rooting ISsue


Last Updated:

  1. elkyur

    elkyur Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question 1: I rooted my phone and I got ninja icon on my nexus one.
    But when I open it. Its just black and there is nothing in that file.
    What did I do wrong?

    Question 2. I flashed recovery image, but when I try to go to that recovery thingy. It turns to black and in few seconds there is android with "!".
    Some one other had this problem too, how to fix this!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Espike

    Espike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    1) Nothing. You have successfully installed SuperUser. Nothing will appear here until you start to use apps that need root access. At that time, you will be able to see what apps you are allowing to have root access.

    2)What recovery did you flash? If you flashed a stock recovery, then you did it right. To access the recovery menu, from that screen press the vol up button and power button at the same time(might take a few tries to get it right). If you tried to flash a custom recovery, then just try again and pay attention to ALL the small details. You'll get it eventually and no, you won't brick your phone.
     
  3. elkyur

    elkyur Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have a question...
    Why cant I see NAnind back up when I boot recovery.
     
  4. Espike

    Espike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Nandroid back up is a feature of a custom recovery. You most likely flashed a stock recovery.
     
  5. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Try Amon_RA recovery for NAND backup... others such as Clockwork will do it also, but bare in mind that one recoveries backup will be incompatible with another's.
     
  6. elkyur

    elkyur Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I allredy flashed it, and i see the script of amon ra in sysyem/etc
     
  7. ikon

    ikon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    23
    You should use Clockwork recovery since Amon-Ra isn't going to be maintained anymore, plus with Clockwork you can use Rom Manager.
     
  8. thatskanyon

    thatskanyon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having a similar problem, I flashed Amon-Ra's custom recovery and when i first put my N1 in recovery it goes right into it... but then when I reboot my phone and then put it back into recovery mode, the stock recovery pops up (Android with the (!).. can anyone help? Running Froyo FRF91
     
  9. thatskanyon

    thatskanyon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    also tried clockwork... samething, it flashed, right after that I got into the clockwork image.. then I restarted my phone... after that I put it into recovery and... stock recovery pops up again! this is getting frustrating! I want to flash Cyanogen 6!
    heres something I got from the recovery log on my phone...

    Starting recovery on Sat Jul 31 01:46:02 2010
    can't open /dev/tty0: No such file or directory
    framebuffer: fd 3 (480 x 800)
    Build : RA-nexus-v1.7.0.1
    Fixing execute permissions for /cache
    I:Set boot command "boot-recovery"
    Command: "/sbin/recovery"
    ro.secure=0
    ro.allow.mock.location=0
    ro.debuggable=1
    persist.service.adb.enable=1
    ro.build.id=ERD72
    ro.build.display.id=ERD72
    ro.

    anyone know what that means? am I running ERD72??? I got the OTA update before I rooted...
     
  10. palindromo

    palindromo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem with htc hero phone and a custom rom vanilla eclair, i have swap, fat32 and ext2 partitions and in some boots the phone report this problem into recovery.log, the key for me is change ext2 to ext3 partition, and boot with buttons descolgar+menu+colgar, in hero model buttons are 1, 3 and 4.

    Regards.
    Oscar.
     
  11. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    10
    For the N1 users that have custom recovery problems...

    Did you use the unlocking bootloader method where the phone sees it as unchanged (still locked when you turn the phone on)?... you might have done it wrong. The stock recovery flashes everytime after you flash the clockwork/amonra recovery.

    Try to use clockwork since amonra is not maintained no more.
     

Share This Page

Loading...