Nexus One STILL Has 3G Issues


Last Updated:

  1. phandroid

    phandroid Admin News Bot Recognized Contributor This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,396
    Likes Received:
    382
    We told you about the update for the Nexus One that was SUPPOSED to fix the 3G connectivity issues that users have been experiencing since the launch. Even now after the update, users are still reporting glitches and problems with connectivity. One Nexus One owner even reported that by touching his phone on the [...]

    More...
     

    Advertisement
  2. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    I hope this issue doesn't get ported over to the Verizon version.
     
  3. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    Maybe this dude has a truly faulty device/antenna... Or in a poor 3G area... Too many unknowns to take this story as 100% fact... I hope this doesn't cause widespread panic... and if there is a problem, I hope Google addresses it...

    Apparently could be another OTA update coming...

    Another 3G Nexus One OTA Coming? | Android Phone Fans
     
  4. dpeco33

    dpeco33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe that is the delay we are seeing in the DROID 2.1 OTA?
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    172
    I'm guessing, but from the vid on the blog, it appears that the aerial is located in the bottom of the phone?

    If so, no software can fix this issue.
     
  6. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    completely different... the 3G is Nexus only... how would that have anything to do with the Droid?? NOTHING





    .
     
  7. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    They may be afraid that the issue stems from a 2.1 issue so updating Droid to 2.1 would be counterproductive and only serve to cause more problems.
     
  8. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    nah... i chalk it up as a typical vzw-slow-to-provide-updates :)
     
  9. amarakvati

    amarakvati Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tried the same thing in the video in three different places. The first was where I was getting fair 3G coverage, I cupped the end of my phone, and I did not lose the signal. The second place was at school, which has better 3G coverage, I cupped the end of the phone and no bars dropped. The third and last place, was an area with poor 3G coverage, I cupped the phone, and LOST the signal.

    It seems like it only happens with areas with not so great 3G coverage. (for me at least) Oh yeah and like mi_canuck said a hardware problem.
     
  10. Mykpfsu

    Mykpfsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    149
    Its on Tmobile, its always going to have 3G issues because their coverage sucks.
     
  11. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I agree, a lot of my friends are having problems connecting with T-Mobile's 3G network in a lot of places. Some have the Cliq and some have the G1 and they have one thing in common, they seldom can connect to a 3G network.

    If the N1 is truly unlocked, I would suggest slipping an AT&T SIM card on it and test it in a lot of places. If the phone still exhibits the same connection issues then I think it is a hardware issue. If the phone has a better 3G connection then IMO it is the network.
     
  12. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    32
    I can't say I've had any 3g issues on Orange in the UK. 3g signal has been on par with my HTC Hero from what I've experienced so far.
     
  13. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    Great 3G for me and I'm on T-Mo.... far better than when I was on at&t with my 3GS
     
  14. neller2000

    neller2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is this going to help test whether or not TMobile has a poor 3G network?
     
  15. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554

    If I am not mistaken even if the phone is unlocked it will not be able to connect to AT&T's 3g.
     
  16. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    172
    Mobile operators cannot detect a sim lock remotely ;)
     
  17. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    um, You DO realise that the Nexus One doesn't even support AT&T's 3G band, don't you?
     
  18. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Well what I meant is that the Nexus One will not be able to use 3g on AT&T.
     
  19. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    exactly my point - how would that prove that the 3G is not device related, if it can't even make use of the other network's 3G... doesn't prove anything... EDGE performance on T-Mobile is great, so using Edge on AT&T proves absolutely nothing...
     
  20. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    yeah I agree with you, I didn't say it to response of yours, I was replying to someone else.
     
  21. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    got ya ;)
     
  22. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I apologize I didn't realize that. I don't have a Nexus One. But I was just citing that it may be the network since with me and my friend's experience, T-Mobile's 3G service in our area is not reliable. If you can't test it with AT&T then you won't be able to see if it's the hardware nor the network. :)
     
  23. MonthOLDpickle

    MonthOLDpickle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well I am glad I am one of the few that with Tmo have perfect coverage =)

    But I have a MT.
     
  24. BigTimeNexusFan

    BigTimeNexusFan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have T-Mobile and am lucky enough to be in a good 3g area. I haven't had the issues described by others with my 3g. So far so good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...