Nexus UK mobile connection speed


Last Updated:

  1. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Just wondering if anybody in the UK has managed to get their Nexus connected to an H-band mobile network signal?

    Just tried the same location with my OH's Hero (we are both on Vodafone) and while she is able to connect to H-band (HSPDA I presume or similar), I am only able to get 3G.

    Is this the same kind of issue experienced by users in the US?

    Having come from a Hero myself, I am a bit gutted that my Nexus (which I love) is somehow slower.
     

    Advertisement
  2. saquib

    saquib Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    The H symbol is a HTC Sense UI thing. On vanilla Android 3g is displayed only although you will be connected at 'H' speeds.

     
  3. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Okay, so that seems a logical explanation but it does not explain the difference in speeds tested using Speed Test app off the Market:

    Hero = 1653 kbps download
    Nexus = 430 kbps download

    The only difference in the detail reported by the app, is that the Nexus was connected to a Cell network and the Hero to a Utms network?!?

    Any ideas? :confused:
     
  4. markouk

    markouk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just done a quick test on mine and it picks up a Utms in Derry.

    It was 527 kbps with only 1 - 0 bars signal. Not too great where I am for 3G.
    I have no other device to compare.

    Okay, tried again with 3 bars 3G signal and got 1229 kbps down and 360 kbps up.
    That's decent for me.
     
  5. TheMadMan

    TheMadMan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    wouldn't know how to tell the difference between a 'H' signal and a '3G' signal. My N1 seems very fast when connected to my mobile network (vodafone). There's a 3g symbol next to the signal indicator so I'm assuming this means I'm connected to 3G and not H Band.

    How do I know if I can connect to H Band?
     
  6. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Checked the Nexus manual and it can connect to H-band, it's just that I yet to witness significant mobile speeds.

    I will be off into Winchester today, where I know I used to be able to connect to H on my Hero & post speed results later.
     
  7. cxm

    cxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a status menu in the "about phone" settings menu that should tell you what network you are connected to - can't say for sure if it will tell you if it is hsdpa as I can only get edge where I live
     
  8. TheMadMan

    TheMadMan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    winchester - just down the road from me. and I used to live in Fair Oak (near Eastleigh).
     
  9. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ha, small world isn't it.

    Bit happier now as on the way back from Romsey, I did a speed test approaching Winchester:

    Download - 1758 kbps
    Upload - 819 kbps on a cell network

    Still awaiting the elusive HSPDA network......
     

Share This Page

Loading...