• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Nightlies and ROMs 101?

I am a professed noob when it comes to both the Touchpad and Android, but not to rooting. However, since I have started down this road, I have become increasingly confused over these topics. For instance:

Everyone refers to "nightlies", which I understand. However, there seems to be many different sources for them. I have consistently used Dahlgrin's, but I find that recently there have not been updates for his. People talk about later nightlies than his, but I don't know where to get them.

I have been using Goo for my ROMs, but the latest there is 3/29. If I go to the techerrata link I found on RootzWiki for nightlies, there are later ones.

The question then is, are these the same and/or compatible with the Dahlgrin nightlies I have been flashing? Is this a common site everyone uses? Are there better places to find nightlies that are consistently updated (I fully recognize this is a purely volunteer effort and there might not be daily updates as a result.)

I am just trying to find some consistency so I'm not wandering all over multiple forums trying to stay current. I had hoped that ROM Manager or Goo would do it to some extent, but that doesn't seem to be the case, or I just don't have my act together with this stuff.

Any guidance or direction would be greatly appreciated.

On a related note, I have downloaded the 04022012 CM9 from the techerrata server (which I think is a ROM from "eyeballer", but I am only getting a 4.0k file, not one that I would expect to be in excess of 100 megs.

Thanks in advance for dealing with my noobness.

Dan

PS: After poking around more, I now realize that there are different nightlies as far as "official" and "unofficial". Subtle, but understandably different .