Nightlies Vs. RC1


Last Updated:

  1. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I had the 8/13 nightly running for a couple of days and the performance was beautiful. Since I have been using RC1 it feels a bit more jerkier. And that is with a full system wipe and Jit both enabled and disabled. Anyone else notice any difference between this and the last couple of nightlies?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    In my experience the RC was just as good as the 8/15 nightly which was smoother than the 8/13 build.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I've flashed 810-815 and the RC1 is amazingly fast. I do have jit enabled and oc'ed at 768. Have you flashed the overclock zip? Has done wonders for me;)
     
  4. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'll give it a shot. I did enable jit, but it made it even jerkier than before. Maybe it just needs sometime to settle in.
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
  6. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    So u can flash the nighties over the RC1? because I think that the rc1 is slower than the nighties I had before
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Yes, wipe davlik cache and cache
     
  8. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Thanks a lot, I'm gonna try it right now
     
  9. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    i had 812, then went to RC1. now i'm on 817 with a wipe. really the only thing i'm not getting that i'd like is for the trackball notification to work. LED works but if i try to set it to white, nada. on RC1 it would work in the test, but on 817, won't even work in test for me. that, and there seems to be some weirdness with notification sounds not playing at times, that i'm pretty sure i've seen reported by others.
     
  10. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Is anyone's "email" app that comes preloaded not working? I tried adding my yahoo main but it always tells me my user name or password is incorrect, so I had to download a yahoo mail app from the market as a workaround. Also can some explain to me how overclock works? I think that if I stick with the RC1 and just overclock it I may be ok but I'm not sure...
     
  11. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there a link to the nightly?
     
  12. stay_clean

    stay_clean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    asiangolfer likes this.
  13. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I thought nightlies don't need to wipe?
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Need to wipe davlik cache and cache, then flash. Don't need to wipe data
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Have you flashed either uncapped or overclockfix? If not, you won't be able to overclock above 691
     
  16. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm using rom manager and I don't know if it gives me that option
     
  17. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Do you have the links to the overclock uncapped? Also do you use email other than gmail and are you able to use the preinstalled email app? (or anyone for that matter). Its driving me insane using that yahoo app. Also what kind of data speeds is everyone getting? (speedtest.net)
     
  18. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I cann wipe data and cache, but not sure off where to go to wipe cache davlik
     
  19. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Explain, don't understand
     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    [Kernel] UncappedKernel for CM6 {GPL} - xda-developers

    I only use gmail, but I will try to use my home email and try, will let you know. Speedtest: 1100,700 roughly
     
  21. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    It says that of I want to install ne wrom I have t wipe data and cache....or not at all. Let me try not wiping
     
  22. ROB281

    ROB281 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    yahoo's not working for me either, but that's not an issue
     
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If you want to flash a new nightly, this is how you do it in rom manager: NANDROID first as always:) Download the new nightly. Make sure you have current clockworkmod recovery. Then reboot into recovery, wipe cache partition, go to advanced and press wipe davlik cache. Press back, go to apply zip, scroll down to downloads and press downloads, you should see the specific nightly you want to flash (ie: cm_heroc-08142010...) Press yes, you want to apply. It will open and apply package. Once its finished, press back and reboot phone

    Let me know how it goes, if you are not sure let us know. But ALWAYS, NANDROID, NANDROID, NANDROID first before you do something:)
     
  24. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    did it! no wipe!! so where can i go to check the differences between 817 and 815?
     
  25. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If you are talking about changelogs, there are no changelogs for the nightlies
     

Share This Page

Loading...