• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help No 3g without 4g?

Out where I live, I don't have any 4g coverage. I live really close to Orlando's 4g zone, but not close enough. So naturally if I want internet on my phone I use my WiFi at home.

However, I was out and about today, and I noticed something. I don't get 3G. I keep my 4g off by default so that it doesn't drain my battery when I'm not using it, but when I turned it on to see if I could get 3g internet, it just scanned for a minute then told me there wasn't any 4g area. After a few minutes, the 3g icon came up in the task bar, but it was greyed out and I couldn't connect to the internet.

I'm new to 4g, so maybe I'm missing something, or do I have a defective antenna?

Out where I live, I don't have any 4g coverage. I live really close to Orlando's 4g zone, but not close enough. So naturally if I want internet on my phone I use my WiFi at home.

However, I was out and about today, and I noticed something. I don't get 3G. I keep my 4g off by default so that it doesn't drain my battery when I'm not using it, but when I turned it on to see if I could get 3g internet, it just scanned for a minute then told me there wasn't any 4g area. After a few minutes, the 3g icon came up in the task bar, but it was greyed out and I couldn't connect to the internet.

I'm new to 4g, so maybe I'm missing something, or do I have a defective antenna?

Did you check to see if your data was connected in the settings?

And are you sure the task killer isn't clearing 3G connectivity?

Upvote 0
I have the same issue on occasion. I think there's some bug that doesn't switch the data-using apps back to 3G. A reboot fixes it.

The 4G is just plain buggy on my phone. I've been blaming it on the signal itself just not being very good at penetrating buildings.