No 4G LTE, just 4GSupport


Last Updated:

  1. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So about 5 days ago I was in a hospital and couldn't get signal, so I just put my phone on airplane mode to try and save battery. After I left, I tried to turn my data on but I had no data whatsoever for nearly half the day, even when I was at home. My data then mysteriously returned but I was only on 4G. Ever since then, my phone can only get 4G, not 4G LTE. I've heard of people saying toggle airplane mode on and off but I am still getting only 4G internet. Can anyone help me? I am with T-mobile.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,086
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    4g IS LTE!
     
  3. lmario346

    lmario346 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    4G for t-mobile, also on at&t are HSPA+
     
  4. lmario346

    lmario346 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    You still get good speeds with 4g hspa+
     
  5. lmario346

    lmario346 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a metropcs S4 GSM
     
  6. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? It's just that my phone used to say 4G LTE, but now it only says 4G. My sister has the same phone and hers says 4G LTE. We also did a speed test to compare and her phone has been consistently double my speed.
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Are you both with the same carrier, in the same place at the same time of day and both on the same frmware when comparing speeds?

    (See #1.3 of 28 Galaxy S4 models - know yours?... to obtain both your precise firmware details.)

    See also... 4G
     
  8. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes we have the same model and firmware. We both got our phones on the same day and we're on the same plan as well.
     
  9. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also yes, her phone was right next to mine when I did the speed test comparisons.
     
  10. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    What are your precise firmware details as T-Mobile offers a number of Galaxy S4 handsets and covers Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany (as Telekom), Hungary, Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, and the United Kingdom, as well as the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
     
  11. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bootloader, baseband, and PDA version is M919UVUFNB4
    My CSC version is M919TMBFNB4
     
  12. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Thanks! So you are both on the February build of firmware, NB4, for the T-Mobile, U.S.A. minority variant, SGH-M919. It does seem odd, given your previous postings, that you should receive such diverse speeds on identical phones, firmwares and location. I take it that both your APN settings are also identical?
     
  13. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep both APN settings are the same
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Then, with identical handsets running identical firmware and modems, I am at a loss to explain why your phone differs so much, both in speed and oddly, the display of your connection.
     
  15. allisonfranz

    allisonfranz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you that sure the LTE coverage is good enough in your area?
     
  16. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep we're right next to each other
     
  17. stevelng07

    stevelng07 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone else know how to fix this problem?
     
  18. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    If your phone has a sim card, Try taking your sim card out & then putting it back in.

    Failing that.

    If it were me & i had tried everything else, i would do a factory reset (bit of a pain i know) but it can often sort things out.

    If that doesn't work then it will almost certainly be hardware.
     

Share This Page

Loading...