No "Account Settings" in Gmail


Last Updated:

  1. joelcripes

    joelcripes Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Earlier today my phone lost both of my email accounts (exchange and gmail). This seems to be a common issue with no solution from what I've read. In order to get my email accounts to work again, I have to delete the accounts and then set them up again (the accounts are still in my phone, but they don't work). The problem is, I cannot delete my gmail account without doing a factory reset. Have any of you had your phone lose your email accounts and been able to reactivate your gmail account successfuly?
     

    Advertisement
  2. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    What device are you using? Your profile is blank. I haven't run into this myself but I don't use my gmail account much and I'm using Touchdown for my Exchange account.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Hello Joel.

    Don't do a factory data reset.

    Go into menu > settings > applications > applications manager > gmail and clear data and cache (it slips my mind at the moment whether or not you'll have to clear data on all other Google based apps as well as gmail; you might as well since you'll be taking the time to reconfigur gmail anyway).

    Reboot.
     
  4. joelcripes

    joelcripes Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    I have a Samsung galaxy s with the 2.1 OS.

    I tried clearing the cache on Gmail and all other Google Apps but I still don't see "account settings" when I go to accounts and then to my Gmail account. I am therefore unable to change the update settings or anything. I also don't see my Gmail account if I try to create a shortcut on my home screen.
    I only see my exchange account.

    This is driving me insane. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Not just cache.. clear data, as I said in my earlier post.
     
  6. joelcripes

    joelcripes Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I miss-spoke. I cleared the data as well as the cache on all Google apps that it would allow me.
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    You cleared cache and data, rebooted and were not presented with the gmail setup prompt? Did you clear the IM data as well as the gmail account via your computer?
     
  8. joelcripes

    joelcripes Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes and no setup prompt. However the "Google Apps" didn't have an option to clear data. What do you mean by clearing the data via my computer?
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    The gmail account may be attempting to sync because you've not closed it.

    Using your computer, or your phone's browser, go into the gmail account and delete it (I've forgotten the exact path to the "delete account" page, you'll have to look around for it).

    Be sure to make certain all Google data and caches are cleared in your phone.
     
  10. joelcripes

    joelcripes Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't really want to delete my Gmail account. Is that my only option?
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    No. There is the factory data reset: menu > settings > privacy > factory data reset.
     
  12. Lbblows

    Lbblows New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh thank you! This was very helpful
     

Share This Page

Loading...