No animations on the desire?


Last Updated:

  1. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    I only find animations when moving around in application (the swipe animation) but why is there no animation for openning applications?

    Even my HTC Hero had animations for that!

    Sorry, I know - its a minor complaint ;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    I'm not really bothered by animations. I find too many animated things make it look a bit cheap, not stylish and sleek at all. Also it drains battery.

    But I agree a little subtle animation could be nice.
     
  3. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    The nexus one does have much nicer animations though
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    What animations do you mean?
     
  5. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    The lack of animation when you click on an app.
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Ooh, didn't realise the N1 did that!. I'll check with spare parts but I doubt it.
     
  7. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    The nexus one has an interesting zooming in 3d animation when you click on an app, and when you go into the app drawer too. It would have been nice to have with the desire.
     
  8. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Yeah not available on desire, maybe via rooted tho.
     
  9. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    Or in a future update, don't want to root!
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Not bothered, as it's just another fancy gimmick to drain the battery.
     
  11. Lukehluke

    Lukehluke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    24
    Someone will probably add it via a ROM.
     
  12. Arthur Hucksake

    Arthur Hucksake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can't you just enable them using Spare Parts? What I did with the Hero.
     
  13. Jamdrew

    Jamdrew Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Spare parts doesn't seem to make much difference. Has anyone else found that the flip-clock doesn't actually flip. At least in mine, the digit changes, but without any animation!
     
  14. Quboid

    Quboid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    120
    On the Hero, it animated at first but complaints about poor performance led them to "optimize" their widgets and the first (so far only) firmware update turned off the animations like the flipping.

    Although it's not as pretty, I welcomed the instant updating. If you think about it, the flip is just reproducing a limitation of the original clock. I just wish it updated quicker, on the Hero it takes about a second to update when that home panel is displayed, which means if I glance at it to check the time, I see whatever time it was last viewed at. Not much use as a clock!
     
    Jamdrew likes this.
  15. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Spare parts doesn't control those animations, the one seen on the N1. I'm hoping modaco will put it in the build he eventually makes for us who choose to root.
     
  16. SupremeBeaver

    SupremeBeaver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    26
    sorry to bring back this old thread. But if you go into Settings, Sound and Display, Animations, then set it to All Animations. Does this fix the problem? I dont have a Desire so could someone check?

    I really hope it works because Sense imo is far less attractive than stock without the animations!
     
  17. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    The cool thing GDE has is the zoom bouncing icon when you click it. But I'm not a huge fan of animations on interaction.
     
  18. widehead

    widehead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    39


    Love it. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...