• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root No Car Dock Mod

Just purchased a new Facinate and have not rooted it (yet). I also purchased the Car Dock as part of the package, but when I put the phone in the dock, the behavior doesn't change. Screen stays wherever I had it, and it still times out and locks. does the magnet activated sensor for docked mode not exist on this phone? I tried just using a refridgerator magnet on the back of the phone and it doesn't trigger any change in behaviour either. I am new to the OS, so bear with me while I get up to speed. :rolleyes:

OK. I feel stupid. Turns out I hadn't quite gotten the USB all the way in. It is a bit picky about that.

Just one wish list on physical design. Since the Verzon Rep's push the silicon or plastic cases and made a good case for it (all puns intended), I which the car dock would expand a bit to allow for it.

Other than that it fits well. I'll see if I like it after I use it for a few days...

Upvote 0
Just purchased a new Facinate and have not rooted it (yet). I also purchased the Car Dock as part of the package, but when I put the phone in the dock, the behavior doesn't change. Screen stays wherever I had it, and it still times out and locks. does the magnet activated sensor for docked mode not exist on this phone? I tried just using a refridgerator magnet on the back of the phone and it doesn't trigger any change in behaviour either. I am new to the OS, so bear with me while I get up to speed. :rolleyes:

Did you install Launcher Pro or AWD Launcher? That will disable the cardock mode. You have to be using the original Touch Wiz for it to work.

Upvote 0
Did you install Launcher Pro or AWD Launcher? That will disable the cardock mode. You have to be using the original Touch Wiz for it to work.

Here's what I did and it works with Launcher Pro as well. Purchased Locale and the Locale Dock Condition plug-in and the Locale Shortcut plugin.