no dounut for the G1General


Last Updated:

  1. my05

    my05 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    According to the Swedish magazine M3, there is a possibility that there will be no Donut for the G1. They refere to Jean-Baptiste Queru (Google developer) who says that the memory of the G1 is too small.

    Will running apps (or even system apps) "cure" this problem? If so, will google make this possible?

    What do you think?

    regards

    Dan
     

    Advertisement
  2. GeoUSA

    GeoUSA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    32
    My hunch is that the developer's comment is a "soft landing" for the G1. He didn't say there would be no Donut/2.0. He said he wasn't sure they would be able to continue large updates for the G1.

    I think we will see Donut on the G1, but maybe not another big Android version update past that. A "soft landing" makes sense. It warns people that the G1 is approaching the max of it's capabilities so people with existing and potential future contracts are aware.

    How many Apple customers have had to buy new hardware to add new features such as video recording that we received as a free update on the G1 with Cupcake? Quite a few...

    That said, I'm not giving up. There are a lot of tricks that can still be used. We have forum members who have already moved their apps off to the external micro SD card. I believe we will see this in Donut.

    Another possible trick is compressing the contents of memory. Back in the early 90s, I remember a PC app called Worlds Away that ran horribly unless you had at least 8 MB of RAM (yep, 8 MB was pretty lofty back then)! The Worlds Away developers compressed the contents of memory, added more features, and the app still ran better in 4 MB of RAM.
     
  3. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    I think its just rumors...
     
  4. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ive always had this stupid thought. But cant we move all apps out of internal memory and use an SD card (like usual) BUT use the internal space as RAM or swap of some kind? I mean, wouldnt it be faster to do this method? Ive seen all the swap space apps and what not, but what about actually utilizing that space?
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I have possed the same suggestion to a couple of dev and they didnt take much interest...

    Seems idea to me ... to even keep track of your most used apps and create a special directory on the phone for them ... then modify the launcher to check a white list of frequently used apps that are stored on flashrom ..and load and run them from there instead of the slower sdcard ....
     
  6. technicolor

    technicolor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Developers already got most of Donut out as a version number 1.6 and are predicting version 2.0 will be Eclair (next version to donut). Most of donut ROM is available and already developed and in testing for G1, MyTouch. More details can be found and latest mod can be downloaded at CyanogenMod | Android Community Rom based on Donut tree. OR using cmupdater tool from market, just make sure you have root access and image recovery tool installed.

    It is possible to move your apps to the sdcard. You will need to flash Recoveryimage either cyan1.4 or RAv1.2.1G and then partition the sdcard with three partitons Fat32+ext2/3+linux swap. Once you flash image recovery tool and boot up in it its all piece of cake and tool will do it all with one click for u. Best place to start will be TheUnlockr.com - Cell Phone How To's, Phone Reviews, and Wireless News! follow the video for your phone. e.g. How to root MyTouch with one click.

    Try with caution so you wont BRICK your phone. Easy tip just stay away from boot loader (SPL) in the beginning.
     
  7. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yep, I remember a server in my old head office that was the size of about 6 refrigerators, had it's own room and a liquid cooled processor. Nobody would go in the room for fear of being sterilized! The speed? A dazzling 800mhz!!

    I'm only 33 too!
     

Share This Page

Loading...