No Google Voice Search?Support


Last Updated:

  1. kayawire

    kayawire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    I remember having this on the Hero.... Can anyone confirm that this is on the Moment ? And if not, is there a suitable alternative?

    Thanks,

    KW
     

    Advertisement
  2. Adrift

    Adrift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    104
    That would be correct no Google voice search, I can not recommend any alternative as I have never used this kind of feature even when I had the Hero.
     
  3. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    I beleive you have to download "Google Search By Voice" from the Market to enable it :) Unless you are talking about some different Voice search function?
     
  4. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    someone in the hero section posted a link, he uploaded it to an ftp server where you can download it. if you cant find it in the market
     
  5. kayawire

    kayawire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2

    Hi thefley,

    Can you please post the link to the ftp server because I have searched high and low throughout the forums to no avail!

    Thanks mate.
     
  6. rldev

    rldev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    5
    Please post the link, I need this badly. I do not like nuance.
     
  7. zikronix

    zikronix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found the apk...it was on a rapid share link. dont bother as it does not work on the moment. It puts the icon next to the search bar but it crashes out.
     
  8. rldev

    rldev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow. That is a bummer. That is such a useful app. Why wouldn't they include such a app?
     
  9. funker

    funker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm really hoping when the update comes out that we get vlingo as an option to voice dial via Bluetooth and voice search Google. I had a Blackberry for a week and the only thing I loved about it was vlingo. Well, that and Brick Breaker! Nuance is some of the worst trash I've ever used.

    Ah, now after doing a bit more research, I understand that Google voice search is Google's own voice search tool and that it's supposed to work well along the lines of Vlingo rather than Nuance. Anyone who's used all 3 care to comment on their experiences between them?
     
  10. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    the google voice dialer and voice search. I can get the voice dialer to work on the Moment but not the search. When I use the button on the side of the phone a menu comes up and asks if I want to use nuiance or google voice dialing. Both work fine. The nuance is very good.
     
  11. petrafan007

    petrafan007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    meh more like nuisance. the hero was great with the voice to text and all
     
  12. pho

    pho Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've found the voicesearch.apk, but my moment won't even install it. Maybe not the right version? Would love to use the google maps search my voice.
     
  13. danielg

    danielg Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the file for the hero. I installed it but it doesn't work. If you guy think you can figure it out I'll post it.
     
  14. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    mobile google page along with an app called WHERE. Not as good as the voice search but I would assume that is coming in an update.
     
  15. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had this on my Hero up until Friday, I used it mainly for Google search.

    Ok I might be going slightly mad but for some reason it's no longer on my phone(!)and I can't find it on The Marketplace.

    I've done all the usual searches, Google, Google Voice, Google Inc, Google Voice Search. But nothing.

    Can anyone confirm that I did have it on a UK Hero and can anybody please tell me how to get it back? I found it very useful.

    Cheers Al
     
  16. BobE

    BobE Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I paid for talk to me keyboard and apparently Nuance locks it out.
    Wasted my money.
    Not even sure how to get a refund

    Message says Google voice recognition is not installed on this phone.
     
  17. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
  18. BobE

    BobE Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
  19. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    ouch, that was cold
     
  20. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yes it was for a different phone but I still think it'll work.

    And couldn't you afford a Hero ;)
     
  21. BobE

    BobE Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you go through the market you see line after line on comments that state "Does not work on Hero"

    to answer your question No Thanks
     
  22. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
    I followed the link in mez post

    I installed this using sync this morning on my Hero, it work perfectly, I do not see a reason why it won't work for you, it's got to be worth a try.

    :)
     
  23. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Worked fine on my Hero, just search online for voicesearch.apk there are lots of sites hosting it.
     
  24. godsdragon

    godsdragon VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    22
    I had problems with my Nuance voice recognition until iI realized I needed to train Nuance to recognize my voice. I just did so in the last minute or so, and tested it without a problem showing up..(My voice was not recognizable before like 80% of the time)...
     
  25. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32

Share This Page

Loading...