No GPS/BSOD in Google MapsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. phil_burleson

    phil_burleson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lemme preface my post with this: While I've only had my Eris for a few weeks, it feels like I've had every common problem I've seen on this forum. I.e.: 50% bug, dialer issues, no sound bug, 2.1 OTA update probs, etc. Despite this, I'm really liking my phone. One positive aspect out of all this has been that I've gone from knowing absolutely nothing about the ins and outs of the Android OS, to feeling really comfortable and relatively knowledgeable (I pick this stuff up quick). And I think I really like Android, arguably more than the iPhone OS.

    One of the things that has worked very consistently is the GPS and maps functions. I've been using them together quite a bit and continue to marvel at how well the Maps and Navigator apps have worked with the GPS antenna. Anyone who's had a Verizon smartphone over the last few years (BlackBerry, Palm Pre) can probably feel me with the GPS _never_ working.

    A few hours ago, I turned on the GPS antenna and loaded maps, and it took a far longer time than usual to lock on to my location in an area it has found me in with no problem before today. Eventually (a couple of minutes probably), it displayed my little blue triangle avatar, but the background went completely blue. It stayed blue as I zoomed in and out, quit maps, force closed the app, reset the phone both by powering down and by pulling the battery, uninstalled and reinstalled from the store, and disabling all the "labs" buttons. I might have done a couple other things I don't recall, but I think that covers it.

    Also, trying the GPS in the only other app I use with GPS--Weather Bug--didn't yield any results either. It was updating the data, but not the location. I haven't downloaded/installed any apps for a couple of days. Um...still thinking of things I might have done...

    Does anyone have any other suggestions that doesn't involve factory resets or other such definitive-sounding things, or maybe encountered this? Thanks in advance.

    Droid Eris 2.1 OTA
    Verizon Wireless
     

    Advertisement
  2. MOS95B

    MOS95B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hate to say it, but this sounds like a perfect time to do a backup and factory reset. I'm guessing something in Google Maps/Navigator has gone funky...
     
  3. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Then there's the ever popular question - did you change anything? Download a new program, update something etc etc. If you did change something, see if you can undo it.

    Popular question #2 - have you tried turning your phone off and back on and/or a battery pull?. Perhaps it just needs a reset.

    And if we want to point the finger at Maps, I'd first uninstall and reinstall those, rather than doing the factory reset bit.
     
  4. phil_burleson

    phil_burleson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    And then this morning, everything's working properly, which is what I was afraid of.

    Mhotovec, thanks for responding, but if you'd read my post, you'd see I had tried everything you put down. No, I'm not really pointing my finger at Maps (I think), as the issue seems more related to the GPS and how it's communicating with Maps.

    I'm just worried the problem is going to come up again when I really need maps. If anyone else has some suggestions that don't involve having to completely backup and restore all my homescreens , settings, etc. for an intermittent bug, it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  5. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    There's a dramatic difference between a reboot/battery pull and hard reset of the phone. Had you performed a factory reset since the OTA update? Just wondering; I realize it isn't too much fun to wipe your phone, but there is plenty of positive feedback regarding a reset. I guess if there is no other alternative, or you don't get the responses you're looking for perhaps you can give it a go. Good luck.

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/80233-factory-data-reset-option.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/41385-how-backup-your-htc-eris.html
     
  6. phil_burleson

    phil_burleson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done the full factory reset after upgrading (per that exact thread!) and it did clear up alot of issues I had initially when I first got the phone. But it was a pain in the ass and it took a whole lot of re-customizing.
     
  7. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Have you tried downloading "GPS Status"? Maybe this could give you some insight.

    GPS Status v3.1.3 Application for Android | Travel
     
  8. phil_burleson

    phil_burleson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you xx_bishop_xx; that's helpful. Next time the issue comes up, I'll be all over that to help me in diagnosing.
     
  9. trothmaster

    trothmaster Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had same problem and uninstalled the updates through settings/applications and now it works perfectly....must have been latest update causing issues....
     

Share This Page

Loading...