No headset support??!!!! proprietary? :(Support


Last Updated:

  1. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought some awesome skullcandy headphones with a mic. 50/50 Ear Buds - Headphones by Skullcandy
    They sound sooo good. :D

    Very disappointing though when i found that the mic didnt work with my droid x, however when I tried them on my friends Moto Cliq they worked mic and all!!!

    Whats up with that?
     

    Advertisement
  2. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    408
    My skullcandy headphones work just fine.
     
  3. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    what?!!! it may just be my droid x? Im kinda relieved cause that would be an easy fix. So u have these exact headphones? and the mic works?

    Sorry If I wasn't clear, the speakers do work, its just the mic that doesn't. :(
     
  4. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have the headphones you are talking about, but my vmoda set works great (including mic).
     
  5. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Damn, those are some sweet looking headphones. I might just get me some of those. Which model you got? Im looking at the vibe duo.
     
  6. jfint

    jfint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    These are all just standard 1/8" TRRS connectors. Make sure the one you have is plugged in all the way. If the earphones work then you have ground and two speak leads, only one other lead in the connector.
     
  7. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya that's what im thinking, maybe that one lead is not making contact or something. However the plug is all the way in. How can i make that happen? Do u happen to know exactly which conductors are for what? I believe the one nearest to the wire is ground right?
     
  8. DoodleD

    DoodleD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    8
    If you press the mic button, do they default to voice command or will they pause your music and let you take a call? I need a set that will let me take an incoming call while I'm listening to Pandora.
     
  9. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pressing the button will bring up the voice commands, or pause the music and answer the phone like you said. However, it will not pause Pandora unless there is a phone call. In other words if you just want to pause Pandora for the fun of it you have to turn on the screen and pause it manually. Otherwise it will launch the voice command on top of Pandora. So frustrating for me.
     
  10. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah thats what I have, I love them. I have the red ones because they feel so droidish that way. V-moda Vibe Duo - headset - In-ear ear-bud, Binaural - GunmetalRouge

    Sometimes they seem to get a bad rap, but I believe that is from when they had a regular rubber like cord on them. I had a pair like that and they self destructed real easily. With the kevlar reinforced cable they have now though they are awesome. I am very pleased with the sound quality, but then again I in no way consider myself to be an audiophile.
     
  11. DoodleD

    DoodleD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is there any way to disable voice commands or delete the application altogether? It works perfect on my Incredible and I'd like it to work the same way on my X. Thanks!
     
  12. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Damn, maybe that's the problem. My skullcandy has 3 buttons vol up, down, and i guess the main mic button. They don't work right on the X, when i press any of them it runs the call back thing. Unless there's no calls in the history, then they do nothing.

    I still hate the fact that they worked on my friends cliq :( the only button that worked was mic button and it did what u explained, take u to the voice command and stuff. I wouldn't mind the vol buttons not working at all, he'll i think id be happy if just the mic worked. Damn this is anoying. I guess the 3.5mm jacks are different. :/
     
  13. havoc_479

    havoc_479 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    My bad, double post.
     
  14. greenrolaids

    greenrolaids Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    78
    if the plug is too wide / aka the part u used to push in the metal part, it can ride up too high and not allow the plug to be fully inserted.

    I cant use my high end sony headphones because of this.. but my ultimate ears head phones and my Ultra sone head phones work great because they have an ultra minimal plug.

    "for your health"
     
  15. DR 1337F33T

    DR 1337F33T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as the 50/50s are concerned:

    There is no problem with the jack. The headset works in the Motorola Cliq of OP's friend, and it worked in my girlfriend's iPod Touch and my old EnV Touch. It did not, however, work in my Droid 2 or my mom's Droid X. The problem is software-related, according to a customer service guy I called at Skullcandy. He says that some newer phones aren't playing nice with the "MIC3" technology in the mic, and judging by the fact that it seems to work in everything except for my Droid 2 and my mom's Droid X, I'd say it's Motorola-specific software conflict. Unfortunately, Motorola's customer service was utterly unhelpful, and I can't get ahold of Google via phone.
     
  16. saleen22

    saleen22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the skullcandy FMJ with mic and they work great in my X.
     

Share This Page

Loading...