No Internet or Data. Urgent.Support


Last Updated:

  1. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently purchased the Motorola Milestone A853 and I'm very pleased with it. One problem, I can't get on the internet. I can only use WiFi. This is not a Telus or Rogers, it's just an unlocked phone for AT&T. So I'm expecting my 2G or Edge and not getting either. I went through alot with AT&T and they gave up and sent me to Motorola and they could not help. I'm running out of ideas. I only have, I think, 4 days untill I can return the phone so I'm getting impatient and worried that they might not even accept the return. It always seemed people changed their APN and they were good to go.

    Here are the APN settings I changed if anyone wonders or if it matters at all.

    Name: AT&T
    APN: wap.cingular
    Proxy:
    Port:
    Username: wap@cingulargprs.com
    Password: CINGULAR1
    Server:
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
    MMS Port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410

    I've also tried many other configurations as well.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. mikicishte

    mikicishte Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn off the phone, take off the battery and put it back maybe will help
     
  3. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, thanks but I've tried that many of times. At one point did a hard reset to start over.
     
  4. TwinDragons

    TwinDragons Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    We need to know a little more information about your phone and where you live. It depends where you live because of the frequencies provided by AT&T arn't all the same in each state.

    Press Menu and go to Settings>About phone and tell us what it says on that page.
     
  5. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    At the bottom of that page there is all my firmware and baseband information. I live in Louisiana and here are my settings.

    Firmware Version - 2.1-update1
    Firmware Configuration - GAS_EMEA_USASHLS00RTEU_P046
    Baseband Version - 3GSMEPU91A_U_91.07.56I
    Baseband Configuration - UCASHLSMR2EMEAB1B806D.0R
    Kernel Version - 2.6.29-omap1
    Milestcm@il93lnxebld05#1
    Build Number - SHOLS_U2_O2.36.0

    I hope this is what you needed lol. I did finally get in touch with the seller and they said contact them tomorrow for a new ESN. So I might get helped after all.
     
  6. TwinDragons

    TwinDragons Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yup that's the information we needed.

    USASHLS00RTEU = means you have a European Milestone. This means that it only has the hardware for 900MHz and 2100MHz radio frequencies. On the other hand AT&T only offers 1900MHz and in some States also offers 850Mhz. This is why your phone doesn't have 3G* access. Sorry I couldn't find if Louisiana has 850MHz or not.

    Just for extra information, 850MHz is preferable to 1900MHz because a lower frequency signal has better penetration in buildings.

    If you're still interested in buying a Milestone make sure it has 1900MHz and 850Mhz. The Telus version does use these frequencies.
     
  7. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I appreciate the breakdown of it all but I thought the different frequencies of the European phone only affected 3G? Atleast that's what I read from people who receive unlocked phones and pop in their AT&T sim. Well the seller said he can make it work so I have my fingers crossed. Thanks again.
     
  8. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last chance bump.
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
  10. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called the seller today and they were suprised I had all my APN settings set on my own. They were lost after that and kept running me through the same shit untill she said "I'll call you back later" and never responded. I hope I have better luck returning it because that's all I care about now. Can't WAIT to see how that goes.
     
  11. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, looks like I might be stuck with it. Anyone else have any ideas?
     
  12. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    You need a Canadian milestone to get 3g in the US
     
  13. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol come on man. That's about as helpful as the guy telling me to remove my battery. I can't tell if you're being sarcastic or didn't read the thread.
     
  14. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    If you can't get 2g/edge with the correct apn the phone is defective
     
  15. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    Somethings people are just suggesting things to try. We are not mind readers and don't know everything you may or may not know. Apparently you still need help.
     
  16. KremdelMadison

    KremdelMadison Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't trying to knock anyone but it wasn't a suggestion. I put in the original post that I'm expecting my 2G or edge. I'm not trying to be rude. The second post that brendan posted was something I rather look for or read.
     

Share This Page

Loading...