No longer able to mount via USB after new microsd card


Last Updated:

  1. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    I went and bought a new 8gb microsd card today, tired of not having enough music to get me through the day. Now, when I connect via USB, I get the normal options to mount and everything. When I choose to mount, the notification shows the option to turn off USB storage, but then just goes to preparing SD card and then I have the option to mount again. I thought that maybe it was the card, but now even with my original card, the same exact thing happens. The phone will read both cards, and both cards can be read in the computer. I also reformatted the 8gb, with the same result. Obviously I need to try another computer, but just curious if anyone has any thoughts. I have seen some people with other issues close to this, but not seeming to find the same issue occurring. btw, my phone is stock.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Are you formatting the card on the computer or on the phone?
     
  3. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    remove the battery. wait a minute.. reinsert. boot up and try your OLD card first. if it works as normal, pop it out and try your new card. try to mount it to the computer. it should work now..

    are you using windows xp? vista? win7?

    definitely try another computer...
     
  4. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm using Windows7. I attempted to format the card on both the phone and the computer. I just tried the battery thing with the original card and had the same result. I also performed a hard reset and the same thing is still occurring with both cards. I also just tried using a different USB cable and the same thing is happening. I will try another computer..i forgot i have my work laptop too lol.
     
  5. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok, well the work laptop is also windows 7 and guess what?! works great with the new card. Looks like it's something with my laptop. i'm currently uninstalling HTC Sync/HTC Drivers and removing USB Root Hub to force a redetect. Any other ideas? I just reinstalled Windows 7 about a week ago so I'm really not wanting to reinstall..that would suck
     
  6. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok, i uninstalled the android driver showing in device manager, rebooted, redetected, and now everything is peachy...it would rock if they could get this driver thing down. i had such a time trying to get htc sync to work properly, and now this. I ended up finding a similar posting on htcwiki, and it appears this may be related to a clean install of 64bit windows 7. their fix didn't work for me though
     

Share This Page

Loading...