no longpress while charging? wtf?


Last Updated:

  1. Matterof8th

    Matterof8th Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was just sitting here on the couch, charging my phone, and messing around with the home screen. I tried longpressing on various icons, but it just immediately opened the program, instead of letting me move it somewhere else. It was like the screen was possessed, i'd barely touch it and it would act like i'd hit it twice, I tried to write a text but it was impossible because whenever I touched a letter it spit it out 2 or 3 times.

    This is pretty obnoxious, true, I could just stop using it while it's charging...but why should I have to do that? Is something wrong with my phone? I've noticed this once before...but was busy with something else and forgot about it until today. I've only had this phone about 10 days now, and as far as I can tell that has happened twice. I took the charger in and out a few times, each time testing if the behavior was consistent, each time it was charging the screen is crazy, when it take the charger out it returns to normal.

    anyone having this problem? Know how to fix it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    haha, is that true? Seriously try restarting it and trying again. Its surely just an os error!!
     
  3. Matterof8th

    Matterof8th Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Completely true, I also reset it, both by just turning it off, and by popping the battery out. Sorry, should have mentioned that.

    It's not the biggest deal ever, but it is kind of messed up, makes me think there is a physical short somewhere in the charging hardware.
     
  4. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    is your phone rooted? sounds like a reboot is needed...
     
  5. Matterof8th

    Matterof8th Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    It is not rooted. What do you mean by 'reboot'? Just a regular holding of the power key, then choosing 'turn phone off'...and then turning it back on? Or are you talking more like factory reset?

    I'd gladly try a reset, I just dont want to lose my contacts, and dont have them backed up anywhere. ok..and I also dont really know offhand how one would go about backing up contacts. And now I feel ********. Anyone want to toss out an easy way to backup and restore a contact list?
     
  6. Matterof8th

    Matterof8th Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    wow, re-****-ed is censored on here? odd.
     
  7. slanzai

    slanzai New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen the same thing happen on my Hero, but only when connected to a dirt-cheap mini-USB charger I bought online to use at work. I keep my phone password-protected, so it really makes it unusable. I haven't seen it at all with the charger that came in the box, a dirt-cheap car charger, or when connected to a computer. My guess is that the capacitive touchscreen fails when any significant AC component is passed on to the phone. I'd be curious to know if the same thing happens to your phone when you connect to a computer or use a car charger, you may just have a defective wall charger.
     
  8. jay24k

    jay24k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you aren't using an official charger, it will do this. I'm not sure why but it does it to me on blackberry chargers.
     
  9. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    this is not true 100%...

    i have a best buy geek squad usb charger cable attached right now to the hero and im able to move icons around.

    i just plugged it up to a sony GPS usb cable (the cable shipped with a sony NAV-U gps device) and the phone works..

    i now have it on another usb cable and its working.

    now im using a ppctechs AC adapter that had a usb end on it and the phone is working fine moving icons... and everything else.

    what i meant by reboot is remove the battery.. thereby removing power, rather than a software reset. this sometimes fixes lil quirks...

     
  10. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    this is not true 100%...

    i have a best buy geek squad usb charger cable attached right now to the hero and im able to move icons around.

    i just plugged it up to a sony GPS usb cable (the cable shipped with a sony NAV-U gps device) and the phone works..

    i now have it on another usb cable and its working.

    now im using a ppctechs AC adapter that had a usb end on it and the phone is working fine moving icons... and everything else.

    what i meant by reboot is remove the battery.. thereby removing power, rather than a software reset. this sometimes fixes lil quirks...

     
  11. Matterof8th

    Matterof8th Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, I think it's the charger. I'm kicking myself, I bought two small travel chargers for the hero on ebay for like, 6 bucks total. With both of them the phone charges just fine, but the screen acts crazy.

    I probably just shouldnt use them at all huh? Any electrical engineers here who can tell me the possible dangers of using a cheapo charger?
     
  12. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    no need to be an electrical engineer.

    some wall chargers dont have the voltage regulation circuitry to keep a steady flow of current going to the battery/handset and also dont have any smart circuitry that "talks" to the charging circuits in the handset. those types of chargers just send current and not "in demand" (if the handset asks the charger to reduce the current, it wont since it is not talking to the handset. so the battery will charge fast [fast or travel charger] but heat damages the cells) thereby causing extra heat.. which is wasted energy.. and if you are thinking green then your not being green on those types of chargers.

    its always wise to get an OEM charger for these types of devices. any voltage anomalies in the charger will aggravate the processor..
     

Share This Page

Loading...