no mac connectivity?


Last Updated:

  1. jessejlt

    jessejlt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't seem to get my Captivate to mount on my 10.6 machine :confused:
    Doesn't make for a great first impression when trying to transfer over some music from iTunes via DoubleTwist.

    Anyone else able to get their Captivate to mount on their mac? I've had a little more success on my Win7 x64 rig, but I'm still having issues getting this thing to mount as a mass storage device or otherwise. :rolleyes:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Intervenient

    Intervenient Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'm having the exact same problem. Hope someone can help soon.
     
  3. ChronoJax

    ChronoJax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    I purchased my Captivate today and had the same problem with my Mac. I did some research and finally found the solution.

    1. Go into "Settings"
    2. Choose "Applications"
    3. Choose "Development"
    4. Choose "USB Debugging" - you'll get a prompt about what it does etc - don't worry about it. It won't break anything.
    5. Exit settings
    6. Start up "DoubleTwist"
    7. Follow the instructions in "DoubleTwist"

    Credit goes to: Can't get Mac to recognize Samsung captivate - BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com

    Steps #6 and #7 are just how to mount the device and finally get to where your Mac will recognize the phone.

    Hope that helps!
     
    dsjr2006, jessejlt and Intervenient like this.
  4. jessejlt

    jessejlt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huge help, much thanks!
     
  5. Duck Tales LOL

    Duck Tales LOL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    12
    Funny how the fix is found on the Blackberry forums, lol.
     
  6. Android_J

    Android_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm not bothering with DoubleTwist and mouting it directly as a mass storage device. To do so with a Mac:

    Do This First!
    Turn on "Ask on connection" or "Mass storage" via:
    >settings >applications >USB settings

    Then...
    Turn on USB Debugging via:
    >settings >applications >Development

    Then...
    Plug the phone to your computer.

    Then...
    Pull down the notifications bar (from the top of the screen) and click "USB connected" and finally click "mount".

    It will show up as "NO NAME" in OS X's Finder.

    To unmount, eject "NO NAME" in Finder before pulling the cable.

    It seems you have to do this every time you want to connect. Total pain in the ass and one of the areas where Android needs some polish.
     

Share This Page

Loading...