No Market On My HTC Hero?


Last Updated:

  1. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    No Market On My HTC Hero?
    I bought this Hero in China, I think it was cracked unlocked w.e, and it is not the official rom(firmware)
    It has something called GoMarket with all these Asia Apps, but no market
    I saw a thread and some guy said this works
    Code (Text):
    1. Sorry I missed the this particular thread completely :-(
    2.  
    3. OK. I specifically picked [URL="http://content.modaco.net/hero/update-hero-generic-2.73.405.5-rooted-signed.zip"]this[/URL].
    4.  
    5. You missed the most important step :-) [B]Flashing the recovery image[/B].
    6.  
    7. 1. Install [URL="http://openintents.googlecode.com/files/FileManager-1.0.0.apk"]OI File Manager[/URL].
    8.  
    9. 2. Put the [URL="http://flashrec.googlecode.com/files/flashrec-1.1.2-20090909.apk"]flashrec[/URL] into your sdcard.
    10.  
    11. 3. Put this [URL="http://content.modaco.net/hero/update-hero-generic-2.73.405.5-rooted-signed.zip"]ROM[/URL] into you sdcard. You may want to rename it to [I]update.zip[/I] before you transfer it to sdcard.
    12.  
    13. 4. Put this [URL="http://rapidshare.com/files/281026171/Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img"]recovery image[/URL] into your sdcard.
    14.  
    15. 5. With the file manager, browse your sdcard and install flashrec.
    16.  
    17. 6. If you haven't done it, rename [I]update-hero-generic-2.73.405.5-rooted-signed.zip[/I] to [I]update.zip[/I] with the file manager.
    18.  
    19. 7. Open flashrec, click backup (the last button of the program). Wait.
    20.  
    21. 8. At the box, type [I]sdcard/Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img[/I], then click the button just below the box. Wait.
    22.  
    23. 9. Now you flashed your Hero with recovery image. Turn off your Hero.
    24.  
    25. 10. Hold POWER and HOME simultaneously. You will enter [I]Android system recovery[/I].
    26.  
    27. 11. Choose [I]Wipe data/factory reset[/I]. I ASSUME YOU ALREADY MADE YOUR BACKUP. Else, choose [I]Reboot system now[/I] and do your backup.
    28.  
    29. 12. After wipe, choose [I]Apply sdcard:update.zip[/I]. Wait.
    30.  
    31. 13. Choose Reboot system now.
    32.  
    33. 14. Smile as your Hero is rooted. Watch it boots and gives you the Market :-)
    I am just wondering if it works, becuz i do not want my hero to screw up
    Thank you if u help me!
     

    Advertisement
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    That may work okay. You're replacing the existing firmware with the generic WorldWideEnglish ROM, so the Market will be included.

    To be sure, what version and build number of Android is your handset running currently? You'll find this info in Menu-Settings-About phone.
     
  4. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    yea it installed perfectly, but the boot screen starts with my old one, some asian words with the HTC Logo and then it turns into the HERO Logo with those android creatures popping out, then it just comes to a htc logo with a gradient then it goes to my home, you know any way i can change that?
    And i have a problem with my market, i downloaded facebook, went well, when i downloaded the second one it just stops at start downloading
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    You'd have to replace the boot animation file(s). There are several alternatives around which can be flashed from the recovery in the same way as ROM updates.

    As for the Market issue.... it's been flaky for me too recently. Something that can help in cases like this is to go into Settings/Applications/Manage Applications and clear data and cache for the Market app. Any purchased apps will still be linked to your Checkout account, but will show as "purchased" rather than "installed" even if they are. Reinstall to update.
     
  6. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    How Do I Chnage The Boot Animation can u link me to a thread?
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I think you just flash a bootanimation.zip like you did the ROM.zip.

    Which version of amon ra are you running? The one mentioned in that quote is pretty old.
     
  8. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    IDK, and i tried a tutorial to change my Hero's Splash Screen from xda-developers didn't seem to work, like when it tells u to but something on your sdcards root. u just put it on your sdcard right? like not in any folders.

    LOL Anyways can u please suggest me the best ROM for HTC hero, my android is 1.5. lol thank you !!! and the rom i installed is it rooted?
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Yeah, root means not on a folder. So it would be like /sdcard/bootanimation.zip.

    I don't know if it's rooted (not without trying it), but by the name it seems to be stock firmware and so probably isn't.

    Well, what do you want from a ROM? Do you want 1.5/2.1/2.2? Do you want HTC Sense or the vanilla android theme? Do you value speed and features or would you rather go for stability?
     
  10. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    OH I Reinstall a new ROM called VillainROM 12.0 My Market isn't downloading anything :( but it's good
    and i really would like a ROM that has fast speed, wouldb't have the MARKET PROBLEM, and HTC Sense Theme like the orignal theme!
    I don't have Google Talk either lol!
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Well, V12 is one of the best 2.1 ROMs and would be my choice. If you want more speed, you need to investigate overclocking, or switch to a 2.2 ROM. (Although as a trade off, none of the faster 2.2 ROMs have HTC Sense yet).

    What kind of error messages are you getting from the market? Do apps fail to install? Can you use the market at all? The market should work just fine, so I'm gonna need some more details :p

    And you just don't have GTalk at all? As in it's not installed?
     
  12. kevin5fan

    kevin5fan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh i do now the guy who edited made it to talk and market is working, it usually stays at start downloading but when i cancel and install again it works and this rom is really good i just don't like the boot animation!
     

Share This Page

Loading...