No N wirelessGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Jericon

    Jericon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone been able to get N wireless working. Spec sheets seem to conflict, some saying b/g only and some saying b/g/n (such as the support.vzw.com document).

    I can't seem to get my phone to connect to an N network.
     

    Advertisement
  2. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    I think the general consensus indicated that the chip is an N based chip, but is currently running in b/g mode
     
  3. mobilehavoc

    mobilehavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    40
    Android 2.2 is supposed to include support for N wireless. Although not sure the benefit since G should be enough for 99% of people's internet bandwidth. Also keep in mind the phone is limited on how much it can pull down.

    I have 35Mbps down and up (FiOS) and the Incredible gets 20mbps down and 10mbps up on G. That's good enough for me...doubt N would add more.
     
  4. Jericon

    Jericon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem I'm running into is that I have a b/g/n router. It is not dual band, so I can run in mixed (which settles, then, on G speeds) or N only. With my media server I am using N for in network communications. Without being able to use N on my Incredible, I have to drop the whole network speed down to G. :(
     
  5. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Can I ask which brand and model router you have?
     
  6. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    68
    Well...what you need is a dual band router as well.

    I have the Linksys 610N....which is dual band....running DD-WRT Mega.

    My 5ghz spectrum is for N only (since its the only one that can see it) while the 2.4 is for B / G / N. If I"m on the 5ghz spectrum (which has wayyy more throughput...but less range) I can have the phone on the other (which is the only one it sees) and it doesn't affect it.

    And I have said it before. Would really love N. Everyone keeps talking back about surfing the web. I could care less about that. G is faster than most web connections.

    Its about wirelessly transferring data from your computer to the phone. The faster the better. You would be able to do it much fater than G.
     
  7. Jericon

    Jericon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linksys WRT160Nv3
     
  8. mobilehavoc

    mobilehavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    40
    I have a DIR-825 dual band router. It's amazing.
     
  9. yourfriendwayned

    yourfriendwayned Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    80
    I have a feeling that N will be enabled in Froyo and it just doesn't work right now...
     
  10. Jericon

    Jericon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I was on a bit of a budget when I bought mine and didn't have the money to go with a dual band :(
     
  11. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Sorry Jericon, Ive got nothing for you! Sorry if I got your hopes up!:eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...