No network when roaming in Japan


Last Updated:

  1. Shieze

    Shieze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Telus Desire which I have debranded (running Froyo) and unlocked. I have a Rogers sim card.

    I have been in Tokyo twice now and I am unable to find a network here. Even when I search for one I am unable to find it.

    Is my problem because of the rom I have used? I know there are Desires sold in Japan and they work but I am at a loss.

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Just double checking, you have the 'data roaming' in mobile network settings checked off right? If you can't roam, it might mean that there might be no radio frequency that matches your Desire where you are in Japan. Have you tried searching for what carriers in Japan that use the same frequency as Rogers (850 and 1900) and get a pay as you go SIM card to use?
     
  3. Shieze

    Shieze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have data roaming off. I am not here really long enough to worry about buying a sim card and seeing if it will work or not.

    I am able to gather these are the frequencies that are supported. I am unsure if the desire supports PHS or not.

    Japanese Cellular Phones FAQ
     
  4. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    You mean you have it on right, lol? ;)

    This gives you your answer:
    I believe the Telus Desire is a GSM phone (even though Telus is a CDMA carrier). So yeah, doesn't seem like it'll work in Japan.
     
  5. Shieze

    Shieze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So no I do have data roaming off. My concern is not data but voice. I am unable to get any voice to work (cannot find network).

    Telus is GSM now, but I have other people here with me that have GSM phones that are able to find networks.
     
  6. rogerdecourcey

    rogerdecourcey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    To use a phone in Japan, you need a phone that works on the 2100MHz 3G frequency.

    Your Desire doesn't work on that frequency. Your friends' phones that did work will be GSM phones that also work on the 2100MHz 3G frequency.

    I have the same issue, so when I go to Japan I rent a phone from the Mobal counter at Narita airport (www.mobalnarita.com).

    I say rent, but last time I went they were offering free rental, so I didn't actually pay anything for the phone.

    It's cheaper than taking your own phone anyway, because incoming calls are free.

    Rog :D
     
  7. bfksc

    bfksc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    201
    Japan does not support GSM for voice, so the Desire will not work. Their frequencies for 3G data is 2100 on some networks, so it won't work for that either.
    Telus is NOT a GSM carrier, they're an HSPA carrier on a shared network with Bell. Phones will only work on their network using HSPA for both voice and data. Rogers (Fido) is the only carrier in Canada using both GSM and HSPA networks.

    If your friends have GSM phones that work in Japan, then their phones have additional frequency coverage for the Japanese market or are simply not GSM phones. The Japanese wireless market is very unique. For traveling occassionally to Japan, the best thing to do is get a rental phone while you're there. If you go there often, you may want to consider a prepaid Japanese phone as the fees should be cheaper than a rental.
     
  8. Shieze

    Shieze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of the replies. It looks like the 2100 3G network is what is missing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...