no pop up window? Help!Support


Last Updated:

  1. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I just purchased the Vibrant and love it. However, I am having issues trying to transer files (ringtones and pictures) from my pc to my droid. I followed the transfer steps. However,when I get to the "plug in USB cable" step, I don't get any window on my pc to show that the Samsung. In My Computer, it shows removable storage E: & F:. But when I try to open either, it says to "insert disc into Drive E:.

    What seems to be the problem? I'm not an expert on computers or phones so I don't know where to start.

    Thanks for any help with this.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MrsSmartyPants

    MrsSmartyPants Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    On your phone go to :

    Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> USB Settings -> Turn USB DEBUGGING "on"

    You may also want to download "auto mount SD card" from the marketplace - and set it to automount your phone when you connect it to the computer.
     
    jyjones likes this.
  3. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    BTW it's android not Droid........
    Don't u jus luv the interweb....
     
    jyjones likes this.
  4. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I told you I was not an expert. I leave that to my sisters! ;o)
     
  5. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    jyjones likes this.
  6. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    The only options my phone gives me after USB Settings are: Samsung Kies, Media player, Mass storage and Ask on connection
     
  7. MrsSmartyPants

    MrsSmartyPants Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry - MASS STORAGE
     
  8. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    set it to mass storage .,., install drivers.,.,.,. then follow guide.....
     
  9. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I found it in Development.....
     
  10. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    *sounding like my 2-year old* I DID IT! I DID IT!

    Thanks everyone for your help!:D
     
  11. MrsSmartyPants

    MrsSmartyPants Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was just coming back to check on you :) YAY!!! I'm glad it worked :) What was the final solution? (in case someone else has this same issue)
     
  12. jyjones

    jyjones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The final solution was it was the USB Debugging "on"
     

Share This Page

Loading...