No signal, low signal, BAD SIGNAL!General


Last Updated:

  1. myom

    myom Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, I updated my phone to 2.1, then 2.1 v2 a while ago, and I've been hoping for a solution that will fix my eris' signal strength to come up... but it hasn't! I've searched through the forums and tried everything, and nothing has been working. Airplane mode, reset my phone twice, the ##775 Alltel PRL loading, yeah...

    I get 1 or 2 bars at most, and I don't have any service at work, which is horrible cus I can't text (or do anything with my phone really!) without any signal...

    Yeah so are there any other possible solutions? Bricking to get a new one with 1.5 that really wasn't that bad and gave me a good solid 4 bars of signal strength maybe?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. myom

    myom Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone? Stuck at work with wifi...
     
  3. bkratzer83

    bkratzer83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    8
    What is your signal strength it needs to be -73 to -94 dIm
     
  4. Android noob

    Android noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't think there is anything wrong with the signal, just the bar indicator, because today my dad got the motorola droid and his actual signal strenght is -89db and he has 4 bars I think and mine is at -89db, but my phone only shows 2 bars... and I'm on the 2nd 2.1 leak also.
     
  5. EddieVersatile

    EddieVersatile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    dial *228 and choose option 2.. It will reprogram your phones Tower List, and should get you a better signal.. Once it finishes, it will restart your phone..
     
  6. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    To truly gauge how good your signal is, you need to look at the bars once a call is connected. For some reason the icon fluctuates when making calls and when not.

    Once I messed with a few settings, I never had calls drop. I never had bad reception to begin with. It doesn't fix the signal icon either, but you can rest easy knowing you are getting the best signal possible for your phone.

    Look in the tips and tricks thread and look up "Slot Cycle"
    Change that to 0. It deals with how often your phone pings the towers. 0 is the setting for the highest frequency. If you battery life seems a but abnormal after this, bump it down a notch to 1. You should be 2 for default. It improved my signal a tad bit.

    You said you did a PRL test? For VZW it's *228. Do both option 1 and 2.

    If the problem still persists, you just have crappy reception. Different phones have different thresholds before they drop calls. The Droid has a better radio and truly does have better reception than the Eris.
     
  7. myom

    myom Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have already done the *228 1 and 2 multiple times, in addition to the ##775 Alltel PRL that someone had suggested in a different thread. And I get around -93 to -103ish dbm at home (one of the few places that my service is up for the most part... and it's really not that great either--calls get lost occasionally). If the problem is that my signal indicators are misleading, then why can I not dial calls or send texts in I'd say... 60% of the places that I go to? I reallllly cannot handle not being able to send texts during work.

    On the other hand, I haven't tried the slot cycling after my latest reset. I'll try that again and see what's up.

    Thanks guys.
     
  8. myom

    myom Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    If this is the case, then all I can do is wait for the official 2.1 update? Oh God.
     

Share This Page

Loading...