No SwiftKey for rooters?


Last Updated:

  1. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118

    Advertisement
  2. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
  4. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Seems to be working fine on 2.2 N1 (granted not rooted). Anyway to port it over to the Droid (if porting even needs to be done)?
     
  5. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    I am at work and droid-life.com gets blocked so I can not provide you with a link but, thats where I got it and it works good on my jrummy Kangerade V4.0.7 rom on Moto Droid.

    I still prefer swype myself tho :)
     
    breadnatty08 likes this.
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    you would just need to pull the apk from a 2.2 N1 I bet it would work. I tried pulling the apk from my wifes eris and it didnt work at all on my droid.
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Thanks, got the old Beta up and running. Still would prefer the real release in order to get updates. According to Twitter, looks like they're trying to get it in the market for all devices soon.

    For anyone interested:
    http://www.droid-life.com/2010/07/01/download-new-swiftkey-beta/
     
  8. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    pretty soon 2.2 will be out and official so it shouldnt be too long.
     
  9. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
    FYI I am rooted funning BB v0.4 and I found it int the market, downloaded, and installed with no issues.
     
  10. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Hmmm, must be a CM thing then. Or a source built ROM thing? (can't recall if Pete is building from source or not).
     
  11. hexon

    hexon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    8
    i'm using BBv0.4 and downloaded from the market and it's working without problems.
     
  12. slosh

    slosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    7
    Could be that CM6 is showing we are on 2.2 (thats why flash player is found in the market). Seems that swift needs to make it avavible to 2.2 droid. But that wont happen untill we offically get 2.2 i think. BBv04 if you search flash player in the market you will not find it.
     
  13. montyboy

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone on BB or any other ROM where Swiftkey shows up in the market please export the APK and upload it? Hook us CM6'rs up :)
     
  14. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    I'm right there with you!
     
  15. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
  16. montyboy

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
  17. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    No problem, unfortunately my opinion is that the keyboard is too slow :/
     
  18. montyboy

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm, I wonder if there is a way to trim the fat. I'll have to play with the settings and see what I can find.
     
  19. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Still getting used to it. They claim the "Full internet access" isn't true :cool: But it's a little worrying. Anyway, I input all my username/passwords with the hardware KB to be on the safe side.
     
  20. yag219

    yag219 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here, newest Bugless Beast, and it works fine
     
  21. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I believe that with the CM 2.2 ROMs, the market will see our Droid's as an N1 running 2.2 (CM is built for the N1 and ported over to the Droid). BB v0.4 still appears to be 2.2 but flash won't show up because the Droid has not been officially released with 2.2 yet.

    I have installed the market fix (and I looked for the link where I got it from and can't find it but I believe it is BGill55's Market Fix that I used). I'm running CM 6.0.0 RC1 and I was able to find and install that "SwiftKey" app and it works fine. Flash player still shows up after applying the Market fix so I'm not sure why that is...

    Edit: I don't see what's special about this keyboard though...am I missing something or is it simply a "market version" of what looks to be an HTC IME keyboard ripoff?
     
  22. montyboy

    montyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    So do you enter the pwds then go to settings and re-enable the SwiftKey? Or is there a faster way to switch between the two?
     
  23. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    It's rather similar to the HTC_IME but unless it was updated to not interfere with the HW keyboard (ie. FC upon using the keyboard) then great. But, if you give it another try, it allows auto correction and predictive text while using the HW keyboard. :D
     
  24. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    You can always long press on the text entry area and it will allow you to switch between the stock Android keyboard and SK (or whatever you have installed). Works as long as both keyboards are selected under settings.
     
    montyboy likes this.
  25. jearl75

    jearl75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    12
    Running CM6, found it in the market, downloaded, installed, and using just fine. Not sure what the problem is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...