No way to see 3G CDMA Signal Strength??


Last Updated:

  1. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    I see how to view it in 4G (none where I am) but NO way to see 3G strength?? Am I missing something? I've seen this on all other android devices...

    Help
     

    Advertisement
  2. pingpongboss

    pingpongboss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    278
    Are you talking about the signal bars? I sure see them.

    Dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info for even better Signal strength read
     
  3. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yep that does it thanks. But...no way to view this natively as on other Android phones' 'menu', 'settings' 'about Phone'?
     
  4. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13

    Kinda crazy that EVO doesn't show signal strength in the "About Phone" menu. The Incredible and Droid both show signal strength in db's in that menu. I think the Hero does also. I wonder why it was left off the EVO?
     
  5. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    No clue. It does show it (in a different 4G menu) for 4G but not under 'about phone'. Weird
     
  6. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    I know why because you can truly see how lousy the signal is when you have the direct readout. This was a big bone of contention with the Incredible I bet this is why they did away with it because these handsets have weak antennas.
     
  7. frootbat

    frootbat Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I used this on the Droid, but it was missing in the phone info for me as well, so I downloaded Real Signal from the market.

    It's free, and will give you real-time/high/low EVDO and CDMA signal strengths. (to get the numbers, you have to pull down the status bar)
     
  8. roninld

    roninld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    22
    Is this the one you are talking about?
    Real Signal - Android app on AppBrain
     
  9. frootbat

    frootbat Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    45
    It is odd that you can't see the db under system/about. The hero and every other android device I've used had it.
     
  11. frootbat

    frootbat Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1

    I know, it's the first thing I looked at when I got the phone. Given the bad rep Sprint's network has, I want to be able to check signal strength during my 30 days.
     
  12. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    cool
     
  13. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    is 88db good?
     
  14. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    It's a cover up concerning the EVO Death Grip.
     
  15. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    its not terrible!
     
  16. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Download an app from market called "Network" and it will show the screen without dialing the numbers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...