no wifi in airplane modeSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    i just went in to airplane mode for the first time (phone got wet and confused the sim card to asking the puk...) and much to my surprise, i can't activate wifi

    apparently this is changed in
     

    Advertisement
  2. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    The point of airplane mode is that it disabled all radio devices that could cause problems with equipment in airplanes/hospitals etc.

    Don't see why eclair/froyo would change that?
     
  3. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    well, it could make using the in-flight wifi service some airlines offer kinda difficult...
    as well as using the wifi hotspots some hospitals offer
     
  4. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    yeah, I though about that too. On Nokias, for example, when you switch to Flight Mode, it turns off network+WiFi+BT, but you can manually reactivate WiFi and BT, though the phone will remind you, that you're in Flight Mode.
     
  5. inFECT

    inFECT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    69
    There are apps on the market which let you turn on wifi during airplane mode.
     
  6. porga

    porga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is usefull if you want phone to be off and use it for web surf. WinMo 6.0 hat that possibility.

    Which apps on market provide this?
     
  7. inFECT

    inFECT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    69

Share This Page

Loading...