1. Hot New Devices! HTC One M9 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | LG G4

Non wipe update from ICS 4.0.4 to 4.1.2 still risk of brick bug?Support

1. Scoboblio

Scoboblio Member

Morning everyone. A week ago I flashed the Spanish official release of JB to my SGS2 via odin. I`m loving the software but battery life has dropped drastically - considering it was a non-wipe update I thought doing a factory reset and re-flashing 4.1.2 might help, but I don't want to get stung by the infamous brick bug.

I'm a bit of a noob with all this, does the update to 4.1.2 mean the kernel has been replaced with a safe version? Or could I still be at risk if I do a factory reset? The 'about phone' says the kernel version is:

3.0.31 - 816988
    DPI@DELL166 #3
    SMP PREEMPT Mon Jan 14 17:26:31
    KST 2013

PDA: I19100XWLS8
    Phone: I19100XXLS8
    CSC: I19100FOPLS3
    Baseband version: I19100XXLS8

I've spent ages reading through various threads concerning the brick bug but my meagre brain can't make sense of it!

Thanks in advance.

Ian.

Advertisement
  2. janvoip

janvoip Member

Added:
    Sorry: Are you an 4.0.4 now? In this case my advice would be wrong! You should only follow it, if you are on 4.1.2 now!

I don't know either, if the 4.1.2. kernel is safe. - But what I know: You can safely flash dorimanx kernel. Afterwards you would have two benefits.

1. Batterylife is much better. - And you can improve it by using dorimanx battery profile.
    2. You can safely do full wipes, as dori is brick-bug-free.

See:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1617219

I am using the same firmware as you and I am impressed by the difference just flashing another kernel.
  3. SCPadgeebar

SCPadgeebar Well-Known Member

Flash a rooted kernel via Odin(Siyah/Dorinmanx) then flash Neat Rom(check ATR Section)
  4. Scoboblio

Scoboblio Member