• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root NooB here - Just rooted, and now should I backup?

banzai75x

Dec 15, 2010
Hi everyone. Been reading the forums, and the how-to's and am inundated with information.

I just rooted my Droid X (2.2.1) using Z4. Now I can see the SU app.

One of the guides now mentions deodex'ing. I'd like to make a backup first but not sure which program to use and which options? I have seen mentioned here, Titanium Backup, Nandroid, and Bootstrap. Are these all the same thing? Can I use any one of these to perform the backup and is anyone recommended over another?

If you want to back up your rooted OTA, then d/l rom manager and droid x bootstrapper apps.

1) in dx bootstrapper, hit the top button, bootstrap recovery. let it install
2) in rom manger, select "download ClockworkMOd recovery" Let it install.

3) in rom manager select backup current rom... then you're in binness!

Reactions: banzai75x
Upvote 0
Upvote 0
Hi everyone. Been reading the forums, and the how-to's and am inundated with information.

I just rooted my Droid X (2.2.1) using Z4. Now I can see the SU app.

One of the guides now mentions deodex'ing. I'd like to make a backup first but not sure which program to use and which options? I have seen mentioned here, Titanium Backup, Nandroid, and Bootstrap. Are these all the same thing? Can I use any one of these to perform the backup and is anyone recommended over another?

I would make a backup before you do anything else to your phone. go to the market and download "droid X Bootstrapper" if you dont already have it
once its installed, open the app>press bootstrap recovery>when it asks for superuser permissions, allow it>press reboot recovery>use your volume keys to scroll down to backup/restore, use your camera button as your enter button>scroll to backup and press your camera button again