• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root {NOOB} I just got an Incredible... general Root & ROM questions

kozzer

Aug 20, 2010
Ok, I'm new to Android and have a couple of questions.

1) If/when I root the phone, is permanent? By which I mean once Verizon eventually issues the Froyo OTA update, will I have to root it again, or is it something I only do once?

2) I'm also contemplating doing the leaked Froyo ROM thing, but what does that do in terms of when Verizon issues their own update? And does that mean I have to set everything up again? I'm actually quite happy with the stock HTC installation (once I root it and get the shovelware off the phone), so I'm not sure if I want to take the plunge with Froyo until it's official.

2a) If I do decide to install a Froyo ROM, which one is a good for Sense and maximizing battery life while keeping the performance where it's at?

Thanks!

1. The only permanent thing is Unrevoked Forever. If you just do a normal root with Unrevoked Reflash tool, it is completely reversible.

2. Yes, you will have to set up your phone again. If you have this installed and VZW pushes out their own update, you do a full factory reset and then get their own Froyo update.

2a. If you like Sense, I suggest SkyRaider 2.5.2 or The Third Wave (I think it's sense based). Take a look through Android Forums and xda-developers for more info on ROMs and which one is best.

Reactions: kozzer
Upvote 0
Ok, good luck. Here is a very good tutorial for what you want to do. Look at the part "Removing Bloat".

Howto: Root the HTC Droid Incredible - Technology - Jonamerica.com
Yes, I've read that article a few times already. Though it will be helpful to find it again easily (since it'll be here in the thread I started), so thanks.