Noob question about rooting..


Last Updated:

  1. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can i root without instaling a custom rom?
    If i can, will all my information be wiped once i root?
     

    Advertisement
  2. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    The K-Zoo Kid likes this.
  3. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
  4. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    No, it will only require you to wipe when installing a custom ROM. This is just giving you root access.
     
    The K-Zoo Kid likes this.
  5. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks a lot :) exactly what i wanted to know...
     
  6. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    On a side note, once you get comfortable with rooting and understanding the ins and outs of the phone, you may want to try a custom ROM. BH_MAN on these forums (Eugene373 on XDA and AndroidSpin) makes great ROMS and luckily he is working on the Vibrant.

    The custom roms are typically much faster and work better than stock simply because of the tweaks and removal of bloatware.

    Before you dive into it though, be patient and read as much as you can. The process is fairly simple, but a lot of people have the attention span of a puppy and end up doing something they regret. So read read read! :)
     
  7. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have already been through the process of rooting a G1 and installing a custom rom, so i understand most of it. I just wasn't sure about these 2 things, because i haven't seen a rom that is very appealing to me and i have never rooted a phone without installing a custom rom. Is that rom he is working on a froyo rom?
     
  8. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh, and isnt there a lag fix or something like that? I havent had many issues with lag, but i figure i might as well get it running as fast as possible :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...