• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Noob Wants to Install Fresh Android 4.2.2 on Stock Phone

ArcticJerry

Lurker
Feb 14, 2016
I've acquired an Android phone from China and it doesn't believe in Google. Can't access Google Play, etc.
So I believe I am going to have to wipe it and install a fresh OS. Since I've never done this before, it's a bit intimidating. I've researched on the web and everything I've found has been either for a specific model or frankly over my head. I'm an application programmer (though haven't done anything for mobile phones yet) so I'm not completely brain dead. I've dropped $60 on this phone, so if it's a loss, so be it. I've rooted it using MobileGo by Wondershare.

Phone2.png

Here are some specs:
Phone3.png

I would appreciate some advice on how to either enable Google Play access or noob level how-to's to blast it away and reinstall a fresh OS.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hey Jerry, welcome to our AndroidForums! :)

I'm not familiar with that device, but our esteemed @mikedt might be.

FYI, I removed the link you had since it seems like it's on our forum's naughty list filters (i.e., you can tell from the asterisks that the site generated).

Cheers and best of luck!

Thank you! I noticed the link was naughty, so I took a screen shot of it. Hopefully that will be ok.

Reactions: scary alien
Upvote 0
One more observation with this phone.. When you go into settings and try to add an account, nothing happens. Click the Add Account and there is no response.

Yeah, that's probably because it wants to add a Google account and if your Google apps are not properly/completely installed, that part likely won't work.

Reactions: electricpete
Upvote 0
I googled " how to install Google play on Chinese phone" and found this xda thread,
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1874285