Noob wants to root, but has questions!!


Last Updated:

  1. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi everyone!

    First of all, thanks to everyone who contributes on this forum. I have learned SO much!!

    This is what I would like my phone (Droid Eris running OTA 2.1 with the July patch) to do, and I want to know if I can do it by rooting without losing the things I want to keep:

    I would like to root using the "Universal Eris Root for Dummies"

    1.) I don't want to lose Sense (it might be corny, but I LOVE the weather animation, etc.)

    2.) I want to get rid of useless apps (Twitter, AmazonMP3, etc.)

    3.) I want my phone to be faster with less lag--especially the dialer (Overclocking?)
    a.) Is overclocking done later, in a separate process?
    b.)Will just rooting alone help with lag issues?

    4.) I want to free up space on my phone (Apps2sd?)

    5.) I don't know if I want to do a custom ROM at this time. Do I have to (see #1)?

    Thanks!
    Jennifer
     

    Advertisement
    davidr2340 likes this.
  2. jhug

    jhug Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    0. I did it via the SDK install. Worked like a charm. If you are OK with running DOS commands - this is the fastest/easiest way to go.
    1. Some of the custom ROMS support sense
    2. Yup. You can uninstall apps.
    3. Though I just went ROOT a few hours ago - everything I've read says it will
    remove the lag. Just haven't used the phone enough yet to know for sure.
    3a. Yes - download the SetCPU app - and carefully read the docs and set the CPU higher.
    3b. Probably - but don't know for sure. No harm in boosting the CPU.
    4. Not sure about that.
    5. I believe there is a non-custom "plan vanilla" 2.1 ROM out there.
     
  3. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the quick reply--I'm thinking of doing this tonight if I get responses to my questions!

    I'm not comfortable with DOS, so that's why I wanted to do the "Dummies" one...

    So, overclocking is simply installing an app and following the instructions?

    How does Plain Vanilla work? Does it override Sense? I don't HAVE to have a custom ROM, correct?
     
  4. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    I used the Eris Master Application for the rooting process and installation of my first ROM. Senseable 3.1 is a great start into the whole ROM scene. From there, its a matter of experimenting and getting used to the process of flashing. Im now on xtrROM3.0.3. It is very different from any sense based ROM but it is very fast and stable, and when JIT is enabled, it is even faster! Learn by trying, this is the only way to truly learn the whole process. I was nervous at first but then I dove in got it done. Good luck and just read through the forums. XDA is also great resource.
     
  5. jhug

    jhug Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think the Master GURUs that are on here can answer this better...but I believe the "Senseable 3.1" ROM mentioned previous to this is like a "base" ROM that will be the same or similar to the regular sense.

    Yes, just download and install the setCPU app (like any other app) - then configure it. The best bet is...

    Read this...it's a complete user guide for the setCPU app
    SetCPU for Root Users

    Read this thread...good info on how high to make the settings:
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/98457-overclocking-hmm.html
     
  6. adam29617

    adam29617 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once you root your eris you will forgit all about sense trust me!! I'm running KaosFroyo v24 and have everything and I do mean every thing!!!! :)
     
  7. adam29617

    adam29617 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0


    I did the dummie install of root in less than a hour. Flashed KaosFroyo v24, you do lose sense but you won't miss it trust me!!
     
  8. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks everyone! You guys are the best!
     
  9. sabakawasaki

    sabakawasaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got mine done using the universal root for dummies. It was just about the easiest thing i have ever done. now i am just playing around with different roms. I am currently using celbfroyo 1.4 and it is ok. I am having issues syncing with all accounts but I'm working on that. By all means, root your phone. Performance is up by a ton. Enjoy!
     
  10. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, I followed "Dummies" and am still NOT rooted because I DO NOT want to install a custom ROM at this time (I want to take this sloooowww!)

    I found some information about flashing EngTools.zip to bypass flashing a custom ROM, but I am a TOTAL noob and need STEP-BY-STEP, DETAILED instructions. Anyone know where I can find these kind of instructions? I have found instructions for it, but they are too "geeky" for me!! I need instructions like how to install "Dummies"!

    Also, does installing EngTools.zip require a PC as opposed to doing it ONLY on my phone (like "Dummies")?

    Thanks again everyone, I appreciate your patience with me!
     
    jcsaxx likes this.
  11. wally1981

    wally1981 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just root and flash recovery, I believe you could flash one of the OC kernals and delete some of the unwanted apps (Twitter, Tetter, Amazon, etc.) and that will help you with speed some. Personally all "Sense" based roms to me had Dialer lag. Once I switched to a AOSP rom it has been better. Personally run Kaos Froyo and it is smooth.
     
  12. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yes, you can use the Universal for dummies method still and only flash EngTools. In the 4th post called "Finishing up", you would stop at his figure 37. This is the step where he shows you to do a nand backup. After the backup, you can flash engtools instead of a custom rom. You do not need to wipe to do this. Go to figure 40. You would choose the engtools.zip file at this point.

    I personally think it is easier to use the detailed instructions that surgeon and v941726 put together. you need to use your computer, but it's many less steps to do.
     
  13. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
  14. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think their may be a misunderstanding about what I'm asking. Let me clarify...

    I have already done the "Dummies" "pre-root" method and know I can flash the EngTools. I have already decided WHAT I want to do (flash EngTools), it's a matter of not being able to understand HOW to do it (flash EngTools).

    When it got the to the step of Vol Up/End to reboot the phone into AmonRa recovery, it wouldn't boot to the recovery. Instead, it just did a normal boot. I did some research and found out I won't have "real" root (nor will I be able to boot into AmonRa recovery) until I flash a ROM of some sort, but I DO NOT want to flash a custom ROM at this time. That is why I want to do the EngTools.

    So, my question is...

    Is there anywhere I can find a STEP-BY-STEP, DETAILED tutorial (like Erisuser1 did for "Dummies") that will teach me how to flash EngTools. The tutorials I have found so far (v941726's and possibly surgeon's as well) is still a bit too "geeky" for me and I don't want to screw it up.

    Hope that clarifies things a bit!
     
  15. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Are you saying that you can't get to Amon_Ra recovery? Flashing engtool.zip is the same as flashing a ROM only you don't wipe data and cache. But you can't flash that if you can't get into Amon_Ra. If you're unable to get into Amon_Ra head back over to EU1's root for dummies thread. On the last page I helped someone with this problem already. Just follow the steps that I laid out and post in that thread if you have any more issues with recovery.
     
    wildabouthockey likes this.
  16. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ok, I know what you are saying... vol up + end does not seem to work for me either. Do a vol down + end. When you see a menu, select Recovery. That will get you into the Amon recovery tool. Then from there, you will flash the engtools.zip file. Make sure you have the zip file on your SD card before you begin. Also make sure you have done a nand backup from the recovery tool.
     
  17. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks Papadroid, I was following that thread but just now saw the recent posts about how to fix the booting into recovery problem.

    I was misunderstanding. I thought I COULDN'T get into AmonRa recover UNTIL I flashed a rom. Sorry for the noobiness...lol.

    But, once I follow the instructions in EU1's Dummies thread to fix that issue, I still have the issue of not being able to understand the instructions for EngTools.zip.

    Maybe I should just request EU1 for a "Dummies" tutorial for installing EngTools? :eek:
     
  18. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281

    OK, are you saying that you already flashed a new ROM? If so then what are you looking to achieve by flashing engtools.zip?
     
  19. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    No, I haven't flashed a ROM EVER! :eek:

    The reason I want to do EngTools is because I want to be able to do the things I listed in my OP without having to do a hard reset. I also want to take all this ROM stuff slow. I'm too confused by all the pro's and con's of all the different ROMs out there and don't want to deal with that at this time. Make sense?
     
  20. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    OK, understood. Are you able to get into recovery?
     
  21. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
  22. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Try the fix that I posted in the root for dummies thread and see if that gets you into recovery. Flashing the engtools.zip is a breeze once we get you into recovery.
     
  23. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks again, Papadroid!

    Should I try LED's suggestion above (Vol DOWN/End) first?
     
  24. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
  25. wildabouthockey

    wildabouthockey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Vol Down/End worked! While I was in there, I did a nand backup as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...