• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Noob who lost root after OTA

Jbwalton

Lurker
Mar 25, 2013
Greetings all. I'm a noob who recently rooted my Pantech Marauder phone. I rooted using ICS Root Unlocker 1.0. After the recent Verizon software update OTA this week, I no longer have root on my phone.

Does anyone have any ideas on how I could go about restoring root access to my phone?

I tried the factory reset; however, it resets to the new OTA update. ICS root does not work anymore.

[HIGH][/HIGH]failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Permission denied
link failed File exists
Press any key to continue . . .
/system/bin/sh: cannot create /data/local.prop: Permission denied
uid=2000(shell) gid=2000(shell) groups=1003(graphics),1004(input),1007(log),1009
(mount),1011(adb),1015(sdcard_rw),3001(net_bt_admin),3002(net_bt),3003(inet),300
6(net_bw_stats)
remount failed: Operation not permitted
failed to copy 'files\su' to '/system/xbin/su': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
Removing changes except ROOT...
rm failed for /data/local.prop, No such file or directory
rm failed for /data/local/tmp, Permission denied
failed on '/data/local/tmp.bak' - No such file or directory
Installing superuser...
failed to copy 'files\superuser.apk' to '/system/app/superuser.apk': Read-only file system
Press any key to continue . . .[HIGH][/HIGH]

I've also tired Z4Root, and that doesn't work either.

This post here seems to indicate that folks aren't having much luck with flashboot, either: http://androidforums.com/marauder-a...attempting-develop-clockworkmod-marauder.html

Any thoughts? Or, do I need to wait and see if there is a new exploit and tool that comes out later on down the road?

Thanks!!!

BEST TECH IN 2023